Presentation

Yacht Class n°18 (sept-oct-nov 2019)

Custom Line – Ferretti Group

An eye-catching silhouette, a high-level “on-board comfort” for both the living spaces and equipment, place this large Custom Line amongst the leading yachts of its category. The latitude given to the owner for the layout and decoration is also part of the seducing arguments.

Written by: : Philippe Leblond – Photos : All rights reserved

Along the many models of the Navetta series, including the 42 metres jointly launched with the Custom Line 120 last year, the latter is an alternative: slimmer silhouette, higher performance but smaller living space. This 120 foot (actually 126) made a great impression during her world premiere at the Cannes Yachting Festival 2018. She is actually the first Custom Line designed by Francesco Paszkowski, and the least we can say is that her lines do not leave indifferent. The Milanese designer managed to give rhythm to the silhouette, “opening” the polyester hull by emphasizing each of the three decks with long portholes. Despite her size, this 38 metre gives an impression of lightness. And it’s not just a feeling, since this composite construction was made by infusion, and the carbon input has also resulted in weight savings while creating a greater structural rigidity of the hull/deck assembly. The elegant proportions also stem from the stunning balance between the interior and exterior living areas. As we boarded via the cockpit, the power-operated opening of the monumental glass door of the reception area summond us, without further delay, to discover it…

The cockpit dual-system glass doors 

This audacity – a dual-system glass door, inclined at 45° and operated by powerful electric motors – is surprising. Even if this unique feature has garnered Ferretti Group an award at the Boat Builder Awards, in Amsterdam, it failed to impress us. Indeed, when closed at 45° angle, it creates an aesthetic volume (especially from the cockpit)… Indeed, the technical prowess – raising horizontally 1.5 ton of glass and stainless steel by only the force of cylinders – does not go unnoticed, but the kinematics causes a substantial loss of floor area in the saloon, since when it is closed, you find yourself stranded in front of inclined panel. In addition, it cannot remain open when the boat is sailing at more than 12 knots… Fortunately, its dual system opening also has a classic mechanism with two sliding panels. For our part, we made a U-turn to enjoy the beautiful perspective offered by this reception area of about 60 m2, harmoniously shared by the sofas and rotating seats (Roche Bobois) and the large marble dining table that can welcome eight guests (ten by huddling together). The small bar is strategically situated at the entrance of the saloon so that both the guests settled in the indoor lounge or in the cockpit one can be directly served. The place is generously flooded with natural light thanks to the large, full-height windows. Forward, the port side corridor leads to the galley, with a sea view. As for the starboard one, it leads first to a vestibule where is located the access to the guest cabins belowdecks. After the toilets, we enter the master suite. It first opens onto a large dressing room and a desk, then leads to the cabin itself, which features wood or leather-clad partitions and accommodates a boudoir, a king size bed in the direction of travel, and a large en suite with plenty of marble. About seven metres separate one bay window from the other, since thanks to the absence of walkways at this level, the master suite occupies the entire width of the boat. On the lower deck, guests are also well looked after in their cabins bathed in light by large hullside windows. There are two for VIP, with double bed, and two for guests or children, with twin beds. As it should be on a yacht of this standard, all four cabins are en suite. As for the crew quarters, accessible via a separate staircase, they are located further forward, and offer a saloon/galley and four cabins for seven crew members, all with a shower room. The captain enjoys a double bed cabin.

A touch of asymmetry

Strolling about on the different deck levels allows to assess the original architecture design of this unit. In the same way as the Sanlorenzo SL102′, albeit to a lesser extent, the new Custom Line is asymmetrical. The two staircases leading to the upper deck do not have the same starting point. One comes from the portside of the cockpit, the other from the starboard walkway near the wheelhouse. In such a way that heading back to the main deck requires to cover all the walkway running around the upper superstructure. Surprising. In any case, the outdoors generate a sense of well-being, be it on the foredeck vast sunbeds, or more towards the bow, on the outdoor lounge. In between, a tender garage blends in perfectly with the deck line. In addition to the large aft cockpit, from which two staircases lead to the swim platform that becomes a beach club once the transom is open, the tender launched and the parasols deployed, the ideal place to relax remains the upper deck, accessible via the two staircases above-mentioned and the one coming from the raised pilot house. Under the hard-top, two long and comfortable sofas are fitted between the bar/grill and the jacuzzi with a triple sunbed. Note that the entire deck can also be shaded by large awnings… Those interested by the navigation will stay with the captain, at the upper helm station, where an offset console gives him a better control of delicate manoeuvres.

Two key words in navigation: comfort and silence

Gently, the Custom Line 120’s long hull got out of her narrow mooring at the Cannes Yachting Festival. The large twin V16 MTU generating 2 638 hp each are almost inaudible from the cockpit to the upper deck. It is true that the Ancona-based yard has put every effort into sound insulation thanks to additional “layers” in the partitions and floors, to minimize the noises of the engines and generators. And the result can be seen in our readings in navigation: 54 dB in the living room and 47 in the master in slow motion, and at cruise speed (2 200 rpm), 68 dB in the living room, 61 in the master. The other satisfaction was the low vibration level we felt no matter where we stood on the yacht, even when we pushed the throttle forward off the port of Cannes. Gentleness is also the key word when evoking this sea trial, be it for the controls, during engine speed changes or when passing through a big choppy sea and nearly one metre of residual swell. The same applies when crossing the wakes of other large units towards Théoule-sur-Mer, even at a maximum speed of 25.4 knots. This figure is in line with the 25 knots announced by the yard, and achieved with three-quarters of a diesel tank (12 500 litres), half the water tank (1 500 litres) and about ten people on board. The hull silently cut the Mediterranean with no apparent effort, effectively deflecting its bow wave. It should also ensure outstanding comfort in rough seas, thanks to its electro-hydraulic stabilizers. At the fast cruising speed of 21.5 knots at 2 200 rpm, the comfort is absolutely remarkable. If the owner is not in a rush, reducing the speed allows a greater range. At 16.3 knots (1 800 rpm), the Custom Line 120 can sail more than 500 miles without refuelling. At 10 knots, she can even triple this distance! Back in the Vieux Port of Cannes, the captain attacked his manoeuvre. With an idling speed at 6.5 knots, no time to “rest” when using the reversers, since the torque transmitted to the large diameter propellers by the German diesel engines is phenomenal. But the controls are soft and precise, the helmsman barely had to give a little “kick” ahead to the bow thruster (there’s also one at the stern) to moor unhindered.

For Custom Line, there is little doubt that this first collaboration with Francesco Paszkowski, which was conclusive both for its work on the exterior style and interior architecture, should be continued. This large composite yacht conveys an impression of luxury and class reflecting the know-how of the Ancona-based shipyard which, with CRN, masters the construction of custom superyachts.

Technical sheet

Overall length
38,36 m
Width
7,65 m
Draft
2,13 m
Fuel capacity
16 300 l
Water
3 000 l
Material
polyester
Displacement
150 t
Motorization
2 x diesels MTU 16V 2000 M96L
Power
2 x 2 638 ch (2 x 1 942 kW)
Maximum speed
25,4 nds
Autonomy at
15 nds : environ 650 milles
Naval architect
Ferretti Group Engineering Department
Designer ext.
Francesco Paszkowski
Interior designer
Francesco Paszkowski
Builder
Ferretti Group (Ancône - Italie)
Importer
Abys yachting (Antibes)

The current magazine

Présentation

Yacht Class n°18 (sept-oct-nov 2019)

Custom Line – Ferretti Group


Une silhouette qui capte le regard, une offre en termes de « confort embarqué » de très haut niveau, tant par les espaces à vivre que par les équipements, placent ce grand Custom Line dans le groupe de tête des yachts de sa catégorie. La latitude donnée à l’armateur dans le choix du plan d’aménagement et de la décoration fait aussi partie des arguments de séduction.


Texte : Philippe Leblond – Photos : DR


Parallèlement aux nombreux modèles de la série Navetta, dont le 42 mètres qui a été lancé conjointement avec le Custom Line 120 l’an dernier, ce dernier se pose en alternative : silhouette plus élancée, performances plus élevées mais volume habitable moindre. Ce 120 pieds (en fait 126), qui sera bientôt suivi d’un 106 pieds, a fait belle impression lors de sa première mondiale au Yachting Festival de Cannes (2018). C’est d’ailleurs le premier Custom Line sorti de la planche à dessins de Francesco Paszkowski, et le moins que l’on puisse dire c’est que ses lignes ne laissent pas indifférent. Le designer milanais a su donner du rythme à la silhouette, « ajourant » le gros œuvre polyester en soulignant chacun des trois ponts avec de longues surfaces vitrées. Malgré ses dimensions, ce 38 mètres dégage une impression de légèreté. Et ce n’est pas qu’une impression, car la construction en composite a été réalisée en infusion, et l’apport de carbone a aussi entraîné une économie de poids tout en générant une plus grande rigidité structurelle de l’ensemble coque/pont. L’élégance des proportions naît aussi du bel équilibre existant entre le volume intérieur habitable est les espaces de vie extérieurs. Ayant embarqué par le cockpit, l’ouverture électrique de la monumentale baie vitrée de la réception nous invite, sans plus attendre, à la découvrir…


La baie vitrée de cockpit à double système


Cette audace, qui consiste en cette porte vitrée à double système, inclinée à 45° et actionnée par de puissants moteurs électriques, a de quoi surprendre. Même si cette originalité a valu au Ferretti Group une distinction lors des Boat Builder Awards, à Amsterdam, nous ne sommes pas totalement séduits. Certes, lorsqu’elle est fermée, donc à 45 degrés cela crée un volume esthétique (surtout vu du cockpit)… Certes, la prouesse technique – relever à l’horizontale, à la force de vérins : 1,5 tonne de verre et d’inox – fait son petit effet, mais l’espace nécessaire à la cinématique induit une perte substantielle de surface au sol dans le salon, car lorsqu’elle est fermée, on se trouve bloqué, face à un pan incliné. Heureusement, son ouverture à double système permet de l’ouvrir à demi. Par ailleurs, elle ne peut rester ouverte si le bateau navigue à plus de 12 nœuds… Opérons, pour notre part, un 180° et profitons de la belle perspective offerte par cette réception. Ce sont environ 60 m2 qui se présentent aux invités, l’espace étant harmonieusement distribué entre les canapés et sièges rotatifs (Roche Bobois) et la grande table de salle à manger en marbre, autour de laquelle huit convives peuvent prendre place (dix en se serrant). Le petit bar situé à l’entrée du living-room occupe une situation stratégique de sorte qu’il peut servir les hôtes assis sur les canapés à l’intérieur, ou à l’extérieur sur le salon de pont du cockpit. L’endroit est généreusement abreuvé de lumière naturelle grâce aux larges baies vitrées pleine hauteur. En poursuivant vers l’avant, la coursive bâbord aboutit à la cuisine, avec vue mer. En empruntant la coursive tribord, on passe par le vestibule d’où l’escalier plonge vers les cabines invités situées au pont inférieur. Après les toilettes de jour, on pénètre dans la suite propriétaire. Cela commence avec un grand dressing et un bureau, puis dans la cabine proprement dite, entre les cloisons revêtues de bois ou de cuir étendu, on trouve un coin boudoir, le lit king size dans le sens de la marche, et une grande salle d’eau pour laquelle le chantier n’a pas lésiné sur le marbre. D’une baie vitrée à l’autre, il doit bien y avoir sept mètres puisque la suite propriétaire occupe la largeur totale du bateau en l’absence de passavants à cette hauteur. Au pont inférieur, les invités ne sont pas mal traités non plus, bénéficiant d’amples vitrages de coque qui rendent les cabines lumineuses. Deux pour les VIP, avec lit double, et deux pour les invités ou les enfants, avec lits jumeaux. Ces quatre cabines possèdent, comme il se doit sur un yacht de ce standing, chacune sa salle d’eau. Accessible par un autre escalier, les quartiers d’équipage se trouvent plus en avant, et comportent un carré/cuisine et quatre cabines pour sept équipiers, toutes agrémentées d’une salle d’eau, le capitaine bénéficiant d’une cabine à lit double.


Une touche d’asymétrie


C’est à l’extérieur, en déambulant sur les différents niveaux de pont, que l’on mesure l’originalité de l’architecture de cette unité. A la manière du Sanlorenzo SL102′, mais dans une moindre proportion, le nouveau Custom Line se révèle asymétrique. Les deux escaliers qui mènent au pont supérieur ne partent pas du tout du même endroit. L’un vient du cockpit, à bâbord, l’autre du passavant tribord, à hauteur de la timonerie. De sorte que la coursive qui circule autour de la superstructure supérieure impose de faire un long parcours pour redescendre au pont principal. Etonnant. Quoiqu’il en soit, les espaces extérieurs apportent leur dose de bien-être, qu’on fréquente les vastes solariums du pont avant, ou plus vers l’étrave, un lounge de plein air. Entre les deux, un garage à annexe s’intègre à la ligne de pont. Hormis le grand cockpit à la poupe, d’où deux escaliers mènent à la plage de bain qui se transforme en beach-club lorsque le tableau arrière est ouvert, le tender mis à l’eau et que les parasols sont déployés, le lieu de détente privilégié reste le pont supérieur, accessible par les deux escaliers précités et celui venant de la timonerie située à l’entre-deux ponts. Deux longs et confortables sofas, situés sous le hard-top, prennent place au centre de deux plaisirs majeurs sur ce type de navire : le bar/grill et le jacuzzi assorti d’un triple transat, pour prendre le soleil. Ou pas, puisque l’intégralité du pont peut être ombragée par de grands tauds… Les plus concernés par la navigation tiendront compagnie au capitaine à son poste de pilotage supérieur, où une console de commandes déportée permet de mieux appréhender les manœuvres délicates.


Deux maître-mots en navigation : confort et silence


En douceur, la longue coque du Custom Line 120 s’extirpe de l’étroit mouillage qui est le sien dans le cadre du Yachting Festival de Cannes. Les deux gros V16 MTU, développant chacun 2 638 chevaux, sont quasi inaudibles du poste de pilotage au pont supérieur. Il est vrai que le chantier d’Ancône a mis les petits plats dans les grands au plan de l’isolation phonique avec des « couches » supplémentaires dans les cloisons et les planchers, afin de réduire au maximum les bruits en provenance des moteurs et des générateurs. Et le résultat est là, comme nous avons pu le mesurer en navigation avec, au ralenti, 54 dB dans le salon et 47 dans la master, et au régime de croisière (2 200 tr/min), 68 dB dans le salon, 61 dans la master. Autre satisfaction, même lorsqu’on va pousser les accélérateurs à distance du port de Cannes, les très faibles vibrations ressenties, où que l’on se tienne sur le yacht. La douceur est le mot clé lorsqu’on évoque cette sortie d’essai, que ce soit pour les commandes, lors des changements de régime ou du passage dans le gros clapot et le résidu de houle de près d’un mètre. Idem lors du croisement des sillages d’autres grosses unités en direction de Théoule-sur-Mer, même à la vitesse maxi de 25,4 nœuds. Un chiffre « raccord » avec les 25 nœuds revendiqués par le chantier, et obtenus avec les trois-quarts du plein de gazole (12 500 litres), la moitié du réservoir d’eau (1 500 litres) et une bonne dizaine de personnes à bord. La carène découpe la Grande Bleue en silence et sans effort apparent, défléchissant efficacement sa vague d’étrave. Elle devrait assurer, de surcroît, un confort en navigation remarquable par mer formée, grâce à l’action des stabilisateurs électrohydrauliques qui l’équipent. A la vitesse de croisière rapide, 21,5 nœuds à 2 200 tr/min, le confort est absolument remarquable. Si l’emploi du temps de l’armateur ne le presse pas, il peut décider de réduire l’allure, au bénéfice d’une plus grande autonomie. Ainsi à 16,3 nœuds (1 800 tr/min) le Custom Line 120 est capable de couvrir plus de 500 milles sans ravitailler. Et si l’allure tombe à 10 nœuds, il peut tripler la distance ! De retour dans le Vieux Port de Cannes, le capitaine attaque sa manœuvre. La vitesse au ralenti étant de 6,5 nœuds, il ne faut pas « s’endormir » en jouant des inverseurs, car le couple transmis aux hélices de grand diamètre par les diesels allemands est phénoménal. Mais, les commandes sont douces et précises, et c’est tout juste si l’homme de barre eut à donner un petit coup de propulseur d’étrave (il y en a aussi un à la poupe) pour reprendre ses amarres sans encombre.
Pour Custom Line, il ne fait guère de doute que cette première collaboration avec Francesco Paszkowski, probante tant pour son travail sur le style extérieur que l’architecture intérieure, devrait trouver un prolongement. De ce grand yacht en matériaux composites émane une impression de luxe et de classe témoignant du savoir-faire du chantier d’Ancône qui, avec CRN, maîtrise la construction de superyachts à l’unité.


Fiche technique

Longueur hors-tout
38,36 m
Largeur
7,65 m
Tirant d'eau
2,13 m
Capacité carburant
16 300 l
Eau
3 000 l
Matériau
polyester
Déplacement
150 t
Motorisation
2 x diesels MTU 16V 2000 M96L
Puissance
2 x 2 638 ch (2 x 1 942 kW)
Vitesse maxi
25,4 nds
Autonomie à
15 nds : environ 650 milles
Architecte naval
Ferretti Group Engineering Department
Designer extérieur
Francesco Paszkowski
Designer intérieur
Francesco Paszkowski
Constructeur
Ferretti Group (Ancône - Italie)
Importateur
Abys yachting (Antibes)

Le magazine actuel