Presentation

Yacht Class n°17 (june-july-august 2019)

Riva – Ferretti Group

Presented at the beginning of the 2018 season, the Dolcevita caused a sensation during the last Cannes Yachting Festival. A result of the collaboration between the brand’s loyal designer, Mauro Micheli, and the shipyard’s studio, this 110-foot has won over lovers of luxury, finish and habitability. Flagship of the famous brand at the time of her launch, she has set course towards a more than likely success.

Written by: Alain Brousse – Photos: All rights reserved

In its conquest of the market of yachts between 15 and 35 metres, Riva continues to rely on the architect and designer studio Officina Italiana Design, and more precisely here Mauro Micheli, helped by Sergio Beretta. They worked together with Ferretti Group Product Strategy Committee and Engineering Department, according to the operating rules set out by the transalpine builder. This combination of talents created an elegant unit, with a distinct signature: she is undoubtedly a Riva with, among other things, her metallic dress and such personal lines. The large tinted glass surfaces immediately “enlightened” us about two of the 110’s strengths: to capture as much light as possible and offer a panoramic sea view. Actually, today, owners of this type of yacht request the most discreet boundaries between interior volumes and exterior spaces.

A generous flybridge 

Let’s begin our “inspection” with the outdoors. Starting with the 100 m2 flybridge, which can host many recreational activities, including sunbathing with a view, comfortably settled on a sunlounger or on a sofa of the aft terrace. There is also a corner dedicated to gastronomy with a table, a U-shaped settee and three seats. They are all located on starboard under a partially glazed roof. The dishes, at least those that do not require too much preparation, will be quickly served from the adjacent galley-bar. The flybridge features a teak-slatted floor. A material present on every outdoor, including on the 30 m2 cockpit, which houses a lounge with a comfortable settee and a coffee table, sheltered by the fly. Fitting there a high table and a few seats creates a second al fresco spot with a panoramic view, ideally during secluded anchorage. Finally, raising the transom (electrical function) unveils the garage for a 5 m tender and a jet ski, which extends into a submersible swim platform.

A very beautiful master suite

Before boarding, we were briefed by the shipyard: the “masterpiece” is obviously the first space on the main deck. There, we actually discovered a vast saloon bathed in natural light through side windows, which starts less than a metre from the floor and stretch up to the ceiling. The latter is covered with mirrors, which sublimates this volume, almost entirely open to the outdoor spectacle. The picture would be incomplete without the dining area and its glass table for ten guests. At this level, the bay windows on both sides open up to let the salty air in… We observed a contemporary decoration whose positive impact must be acknowledged. The varnished rosewood of the furniture blends well with other materials such as the woven carpet. With its glass top, the table almost looks as if it is floating. The TV screen of at least 50 inches could have been retractable, as this equipment is considered unaesthetic when turned off. Logically, the main galley is located on the same deck, a few metres from the dining area, with an access on starboard. It enjoys a sea view and above all a complete equipment. Forward the main deck is located the 25 m2 master suite, which features a king size bed plus many wardrobes and storage spaces. Very pleasant to live in, it would be even more friendly with a balcony (to be negotiated with the yard). The varnished rosewood and woven carpet are still there… for the best. We headed back to the galley to use the direct access to the crew quarters, one deck below, which features a saloon, a galley and three cabins (one single for the captain and two doubles, each with a toilet and shower area). We also find on this lower deck four cabins, spacious enough to be considered as VIP. Needless to say that they are all en suite with an independent shower.

 Undeniable qualities at sea

The Riva Dolcevita 110 sent us one last invitation: a test on a sea. Unfortunately, the latter was lazy that day. We would have liked to see the responses of the hull (a recent design of the architecture studio) in “rough” conditions. In their clinical engine room, two MTU 16V2000 M96L, each developing 2 600 hp, are waiting for orders. We headed thus to the main deck wheelhouse, a very technical but stylish place. The strongly raked windscreen (due to her exterior design) does not offer optimal vision, but it doesn’t impact the safety when sailing. From the very first miles, we acknowledged key points of this unit, such as a satisfactory sound level, at 22 knots (2 150 rpm): 73 dBA in the lounge and only 60 in the master. Her performance is even better: 15 seconds to go from 0 to 20 knots and a maximum speed of 26.8 knots with three-quarters-full fuel and water tanks. At 21 knots, the Dolcevita enthusiastically covers nearly 500 miles, which represents two round trips from the French Riviera to Corsica. And if the weather allows it, the captain can take the controls from the flybridge helm station which has two comfortable adjustable chairs.

Riva can be proud of the family’s latest addition, highly “commendable”. This 110 foot should “annoy” the competition. Obviously, the iconic brand’s conquering march continues.

Technical sheet

Overall length
33,53 m
Width
7,27 m
Draft
1,99 m
Fuel capacity
15 300 l
Water
3 000 l
Material
polyester et composite
Displacement
en charge : 147 t
Motorization
2 x MTU 16V2000 M96L
Power
2 x 2 638 ch
Maximum speed
26,8 nds
Autonomy at
21,1 nds : 495 milles
Naval architect
Officina Italiana Design et Ferretti Group
Designer ext.
Officina Italiana Design et Ferretti Group
Interior designer
Officina Italiana Design et Ferretti Group
Builder
Riva - Ferretti Group (La Spezia – Italie)
Importer
Monaco Boat Service (Monaco)

The current magazine

Présentation

Yacht Class n°17 (juin-juillet-août 2019)

Riva – Ferretti Group


Présenté aux prémices de la saison estivale 2018, le Dolcevita a fait sensation lors du dernier salon de Cannes. Fruit de la collaboration entre le fidèle designer de la marque, Mauro Micheli, et le bureau interne du chantier, ce 110 pieds a conquis les amateurs de luxe, de finition et d’habitabilité. Vaisseau-amiral de la marque lors de son lancement, il a mis le cap vers un succès plus que probable.


Texte : Alain Brousse – Photos : D.R


Dans sa conquête du marché des unités de 15 à 35 mètres, Riva continue de faire appel au bureau d’architectes et designers Officina Italiana Design, en l’occurrence Mauro Micheli, épaulé par Sergio Beretta. Ces derniers ont travaillé de concert avec le Ferretti Group Product Strategy Committee et l’Engineering Department, selon les règles de fonctionnement bien établies par le constructeur transalpin. Cette association de talents nous a offert une unité élégante dont l’empreinte génétique saute aux yeux : il s’agit sans nul doute d’un Riva avec, entre autres, sa robe métallisée et ses lignes si personnelles. Quant aux grandes surfaces vitrées « fumées », elles nous « éclairent » aussitôt sur deux des points forts du 110’ : capter le plus de lumière possible et offrir une vue mer souvent panoramique. De fait, aujourd’hui, les propriétaires de ce type de yachts souhaitent que la frontière entre les volumes intérieurs et les espaces extérieurs soit des plus discrètes.

Un flybridge aux dimensions avantageuses


Débutons notre visite « inspection » par les lieux dits « à ciel ouvert ». Honneur au flybridge dont les 100 m2 vont pouvoir se prêter à bien des loisirs à commencer par celui de dominer la mer sous une pluie d’UV, allongés sur l’un des transats ou calés dans l’un des sofas installés sur la terrasse arrière. L’heure du repas a sonné, utilisons le coin réservé à cet exercice gastronomique, à savoir une table, une banquette en U et trois sièges, le tout fixé à tribord sous un toit en partie vitré. Les plats, du moins ceux ne réclamant pas trop de préparation, seront servis rapidement depuis la cuisine-bar, se trouvant juste en face. Marine oblige, le plancher du fly est garni de lattes de teck, un équipement que nous retrouverons dans tous les espaces extérieurs dont le cockpit, 30 m2 dotés d’un salon avec une banquette confortable et une table basse, abritées par la casquette du fly. En installant une table haute et en rajoutant quelques sièges, on crée un deuxième lieu pour agapes avec vue panoramique, à fréquenter de préférence à l’occasion d’un mouillage forain. Enfin, en relevant le tableau arrière (fonction électrique), on découvre le garage qui libère une annexe de 5 mètres de long et un jet-ski, lequel se prolonge par une plate-forme de bains immergeable.
 

La très belle suite armateur


Avant d’embarquer à bord, le chantier nous avait prévenu, la « pièce maîtresse » est de toute évidence le premier espace du pont principal. De fait, on découvre un vaste salon baigné de lumière naturelle par des vitres latérales prenant naissance à moins d’un mètre du plancher et courant jusqu’au plafond. Ce dernier est recouvert de miroirs, ce qui sublime ce volume depuis lequel on jouit à presque 100 % du spectacle extérieur. Le tableau ne serait pas complet sans la salle à manger et sa table en verre capable de recevoir dix convives. A ce niveau, la baie vitrée latérale s’ouvre sur chaque bord afin de laisser l’air iodé agrémenter le repas, par exemple… Nous notons une décoration contemporaine dont on ne saurait trop reconnaître l’influence positive. Le palissandre verni des meubles se marie bien avec les autres matériaux comme la moquette tissée. Le plateau en verre de la table rend cette dernière presque aérienne. Reste la présence d’un écran TV d’au moins 50 pouces… sur pieds. On aurait préféré cet équipement escamotable, car considéré comme peu esthétique une fois en position « off ». En toute logique la cuisine principale se situe sur le même pont, et à quelques mètres de la salle à manger, avec un accès sur tribord. Elle dispose d’une vue mer et surtout d’un équipement complet pour combler un chef, étoilé ou non. L’avant du pont principal offre sa surface de 25 m2 à la suite armateur où les dressings et les rangements se font concurrence. Très agréable à vivre avec notamment un lit king size, elle serait encore plus conviviale avec une ouverture sur un balcon (à négocier avec le chantier). Le palissandre verni et la moquette tissée sont au rendez-vous… pour le meilleur. Un rapide retour à la cuisine pour emprunter l’accès direct au mess de l’équipage, un niveau plus bas, qui dispose d’un carré, d’une cuisine et de trois cabines (une simple pour le capitaine et deux doubles avec chacune un coin toilette-douche). Nous voici donc sur le pont inférieur où ont été aménagées quatre cabines assez spacieuses pour être affublées des acronymes VIP. Il va de soi qu’elles possèdent leur propre salle de bains avec douche indépendante.
 
En mer, des qualités indéniables


Le Riva Dolcevita 110 nous lance une dernière invitation, à savoir un essai sur une mer dont nous regretterons juste la paresse. Nous aurions aimé connaître les réactions de sa carène, un dessin récent du bureau d’architecture, dans des conditions « musclées ». Deux MTU 16V2000 M96L, développant chacun 2 638 ch, parfaitement installés dans une salle des machines à la propreté « clinique », n’attendent que nos ordres. Pour cela nous prenons d’assaut la timonerie principale du « main deck » pour découvrir un lieu très technique mais cependant stylé. Le pare-brise très incliné (design extérieur oblige) ne favorise pas une vue optimale sans pour autant altérer la sécurité en navigation. Dès les premiers milles, nous reconnaissons à cette unité des points intéressants : comme un niveau sonore satisfaisant, soit à 22 nœuds (2 150 tr/min) 73 dBA dans le salon et seulement 60 dans la master. Mieux sur le plan des performances : 15 secondes pour passer de 0 à 20 nœuds et une vitesse maxi de 26,8 nœuds avec les réservoirs de carburant et d’eau aux trois-quarts pleins. A 21 nœuds, le Dolcevita couvre allègrement près de 500 milles, soit deux allers retours de la « French Riviera » à la Corse. Et si le temps l’autorise, nous prendrons les commandes sur le fly, doté d’un poste de pilotage avec deux confortables fauteuils réglables. Riva peut s’enorgueillir d’avoir agrandi sa famille en accueillant un membre hautement « recommandable ». Ce 110 pieds a de quoi « agacer » la concurrence. A l’évidence, la marque italienne iconique poursuit sa marche conquérante.

Fiche technique

Longueur hors-tout
33,53 m
Largeur
7,27 m
Tirant d'eau
1,99 m
Capacité carburant
15 300 l
Eau
3 000 l
Matériau
polyester et composite
Déplacement
en charge : 147 t
Motorisation
2 x MTU 16V2000 M96L
Puissance
2 x 2 638 ch
Vitesse maxi
26,8 nds
Autonomie à
21,1 nds : 495 milles
Architecte naval
Officina Italiana Design et Ferretti Group
Designer extérieur
Officina Italiana Design et Ferretti Group
Designer intérieur
Officina Italiana Design et Ferretti Group
Constructeur
Riva - Ferretti Group (La Spezia – Italie)
Importateur
Monaco Boat Service (Monaco)

Le magazine actuel