Presentation

Yacht Class n°16 (march-april-may 2019)

Privilège Marine

With the Série 7, the Vendee-based Privilège Marine, now part of Hanse group, joins the closed club of luxury catamaran manufacturers for offshore sailors with performance as the main thread. Thanks to Marc Lombard’s expertise, up to the interior design by Franck Darnet, everything seems appropriate and well thought out.

Written by Christophe Varène – Photos : Jim Scheiner, Choose your Boat

When in presence of an exceptional person, the Hindus usually bow and greet him with a simple word, full of respect and spirituality: “Namaste !”. In the port of Les Sables d’Olonne, in front of Privilège Marine, a splendid and impressive catamaran reigns in majesty, her name on the transom: “Namaste”. Yes, we can only bow to this Série 7, Privilège’s flasghip. Her lines are handsome, when others are more massive, and the deep grey of her hulls, refined by the long horizontal portholes, contrasts with the white streamlined superstructures. The expertise and experience of Marc Lombard’s architectural firm shine through this unit, and we can’t help to think that she has magnified the assets of the Privilège 745, the brand’s emblematic model launched in 2006, and its eight units. Nothing revolutionary, but subtle touches to improve what could be improved and in particular, regarding the exterior design, a larger glass surface on the nacelle and slightly longer transoms for an increased lift and easy boarding.

Coup de foudre !

Time has finally come to embark on this Série 7, which was experiencing that day some sort of rebirth. Namaste is actually no newcomer – she was delivered in 2017 – but this mid-October outing was like a fresh start. After her launch, the American owner – a sign that yachtsmen across the Atlantic appreciate the quality of work of the French shipyards – conveyed his brand new catamaran to Bermuda to serve as a VIP boat during the America’s Cup 2018, won by New-Zealand… Shortly after, the sailboat was struck by lightning and suffered extensive damages. Who better than Privilège to take care of a Privilege? She then came back to France for a major restoration. And if everything was refurbished according to the original design and configuration, the main changes came from the installation of two more powerful and coupled generators (their load percentages are managed by a computer that switches to one or both according to needs and capacities), and the ballasting of fuel and water tanks to balance the weights. After several months of work, the emotion was real when she exited the channel of Les Sables d’Olonne, where Jean-Luc Van Den Heede and his vice-champion Mark Slats had just received a tremendous welcome after completing the Golden Globe Race. And for the occasion, several employees of the yard had embarked, under the command of Christian, professional conveyor, who knows Namaste and the yard very well.

A trial in light winds

If there is always a small residual swell in the Bay of Biscay, the wind conditions were rather light during our trial. Anyhow, the mainsail was hoisted at the first opportunity. For this manoeuvre, one of the two Antal electric winches (XT 70) was called for the halyard, and the sail, neatly folded on the wide boom, deployed its 160 m2, before unrolling the 104 m2 genoa. At 60° off the wind, with an apparent 7.2 knots, the Serie 7 proved her gliding ability, and approached 5 knots of speed, which was respectable considering her 44 t of displacement. During a delivery voyage, under two reefs and staysail, in 25 knots of wind, she had several peaks at 20 knots! Considering our sea conditions, it is hard to talk about real steering sensations. Rarely is it the case with catamaran anyway. The flybridge helmstation is located amidships and offers a perfect 360° visibility on both the sea and the sails thanks to nice bimini windows. A very generous instrumentation – screens, dials and joysticks of all kinds – allows the monitoring of all the vessel data. The salon also features the same equipment in the salon, minus the steering wheel. As the sky was desperately blue and cloudless, the engines were used on the way back. With 2 x 200 hp, her cruising speed is around 7.5 knots. She can reach 11 knots, but this speed should be used in moderation, as her consumption then rises to 40 l/h per engine: with her 3 000 l fuel tanks, she then has a 400 miles range, which can easily be extended.

An indisputable assessment: quality

Before inspecting the interiors of this Privilège Série 7, let’s have a walk on the deck to appreciate how easy it is to circulate, even if the flush portholes were replaced during the refit. The forward nacelle, between the two hulls, is safer and more practical than a simple trampoline when sailing or anchoring. On our way aft, we enjoyed the slatted deck for its aestheticism and softness, not to mention the manufacturing quality we noticed by looking at the flight of stairs at the end of the catwalk: four steps give access to the cockpit, two others to the hydraulic platform hosting a superb Carbon Craft waterjet tender, and finally four more steps lead to the transom beach. A beautiful spiral staircase leads up to the flybridge, where we discovered a friendly area with a lounge, an outdoor galley and a fantastic… jacuzzi. The perfect place at sunset to enjoy a cocktail and the sea view, delicately massaged by bubble-jets. An image of happiness… 

One deck lower, the cockpit, protected by the long flybridge hardtop, is fitted out with abundant seats, varnished table and coffee table, plus concealed floor storage. A double sliding glazed door leads to the salon, whose structure in light curves creates a welcoming and cosy atmosphere. On starboard, the large chart table looks like the screen of an Airbus, while on port side a long black bar will be perfect to receive the guests. Forward, there are comfortable banquettes around a table that can become a “day bed” when in low position. In general, the design, created by Franck Darnet’s studio, is characterized by sober lines and elegant contrasts between satin bleached oak and black Hi-Macs worktops, a combination of acrylic, minerals and natural pigments, all flooded with light thanks to numerous portholes.

Hats off to the master !

Once inside the starboard hull, we discover aft a large guest cabin with a central bed, pleasantly bright thanks to the openings in the deck, transom and hull. The corridor leading to the bow, features a washing machine, tumble dryer and switch panel. It leads to a large and naturally bright galley and then to the crew quarters (two cabins, two shower rooms and a small lounge). The other hull has a similar aft layout, but its central part is fitted out with a third guest cabin with two single beds. Finally, it was high time to discover the master suite, which was definitely worth waiting for, as this place, occupying the forward part of both the nacelle and the port hull, is superb. Immediately, it exudes a feeling of luxury, calm and voluptuous pleasure with, in particular, the central king-size bed that reigns in majesty underneath eight portholes. It’s like sleeping under the stars, only comfortably lying down and protected. If everything seemed perfect on this Privilège Série 7, the discovery of this timeless place concluded our visit in a blaze of glory. It’s hard to leave her, except to cast off.

Even more dynamism

Since Privilège has joined Hanse Group in May 2017, the relaunch of the Vendée-based shipyard, driven by Gilles Wagner, has gained even more momentum, as evidenced by the new developments announced since then: the power Euphorie 5 we already tested in our columns, plus the sailing Privilège 510 Signature (successor to the Série 5) and 580 Signature. The development program is thus fully directed towards catamaran, with the Feeling brand put aside, not only to surf on the multihulls wave (see our dossier in this issue), but also to avoid direct competition with Hanse, Moody and Delher. Everyone is thus totally engaged in this new adventure.

Technical sheet

Overall length
24,83 m
Width
10,90 m
Draft
2,45 m
Motorization
2 x 200 hp diesel
Fuel capacity
2 000 l
Water
1 300 l
Material
sandwich PVC en infusion
Mainsail area
160 m2
Genoa area
104 m2
Naval architect
Cabinet Marc Lombard
Designer ext.
Cabinet Marc Lombard
Interior designer
Franck Darnet Design
Builder
Privilège Marine (Les Sables d’Olonne)

The current magazine

Présentation

Yacht Class n°16 (mars-avril-mai 2019)

Privilège Marine


Avec le Série 7, le chantier vendéen Privilège Marine, désormais dans le groupe Hanse, s’inscrit dans le club fermé des constructeurs de catamarans de luxe pour adeptes de navigations hauturières avec, en fil rouge, la performance. Grâce à l’expertise de l’architecte Marc Lombard, jusqu’au design intérieur signé Franck Darnet, tout paraît juste et bien pensé.


Texte : Christophe Varène – Photos : Jim Scheiner, Choose your Boat


Devant un être d’exception, les Hindous ont l’habitude de s’incliner et de le saluer avec un mot simple, mais chargé de respect et de spiritualité : « Namaste ! ». Dans le port des Sables d’Olonne, devant le chantier Privilège Marine, un superbe catamaran aux dimensions impressionnantes trône en majesté et son nom s’étale sur son tableau arrière : « Namaste ». Oui, on ne peut que saluer ce Série 7, bateau amiral de la flotte Privilège. Ses lignes sont racées, là ou d’autres sont plus massives, et le gris profond de ses coques, affinées par les longs hublots horizontaux, tranche avec le blanc des superstructures profilées. Le savoir-faire et l’expérience du cabinet d’architectes de Marc Lombard s’expriment parfaitement dans cette unité dont on se dit qu’elle a sublimé les atouts du Privilège 745, modèle emblématique de la marque, lancé en 2006, et construit en huit exemplaires. Rien de révolutionnaire, mais de subtiles petites touches pour améliorer ce qui pouvait l’être et en particulier, au niveau du design extérieur, une surface vitrée plus importante sur le rostre et des jupes un peu plus longues qui augmentent la portance et facilitent l’accès à bord.

Coup de foudre !


Il est d’ailleurs plus que temps d’embarquer sur le Série 7 qui connaît ce jour-là une sorte de renaissance. Livré en 2017, Namaste n’est donc pas un bateau neuf, mais cette sortie à la mi-octobre sonne comme un nouveau départ. Après son lancement, le propriétaire américain – signe que les yachtmen outre-Atlantique apprécient la qualité du travail effectué par les chantiers français – convoie son catamaran flambant neuf jusqu’aux Bermudes pour assister et servir de bateau VIP à l’America’s Cup qui voit, en 2018, la Coupe repartir pour la Nouvelle-Zélande… Mais peu de temps après, le voilier est frappé par la foudre et a subi d’importants dégâts. Qui mieux que Privilège peut s’occuper de votre Privilège ? Il rentre donc en France pour un important chantier de restauration. Si tout est remis en état selon les plans et la configuration d’origine, les modifications principales concernent l’installation de deux générateurs plus puissants et couplés (leurs pourcentages de charge sont gérés par ordinateur qui bascule sur l’un ou les deux selon les besoins et les capacités), et le ballastage des réservoirs de carburant et d’eau pour équilibrer les poids. Après plusieurs mois de travail, l’émotion à bord est donc réelle en empruntant le canal de sortie des Sables d’Olonne, là où Jean-Luc Van Den Heede et son dauphin Mark Slats viennent de recevoir un formidable accueil après avoir bouclé la Golden Globe Race. En effet, pour l’occasion, plusieurs employés du chantier ont embarqué, sous les ordres de Christian, convoyeur professionnel, qui connaît très bien Namaste, et surtout le chantier.
 

Un essai par petit temps


S’il existe toujours une petite houle résiduelle dans le fond du Golfe de Gascogne, le vent est plutôt aux abonnés absents pour cette sortie. Qu’importe, la grand-voile est hissée dès que possible. Pour cette manœuvre, l’un des deux winches électriques Antal XT 70 est sollicité pour la drisse, et la voile, bien pliée sur la large bôme, déploie ses 160 m2, avant de dérouler les 104 m2 du génois. A 60° du vent qui souffle à 7,2 nœuds en apparent, le Série 7 démontre ses capacités de glisse et s’approche des 5 nœuds de vitesse, un résultat honorable compte-tenu des 44 tonnes de déplacement. Lors d’un convoyage, sous deux ris et trinquette, par 25 nœuds de vent, le bateau s’est offert plusieurs pointes à 20 nœuds !
Mais dans les conditions rencontrées pour cet essai, difficile de parler de réelles sensations de barre, ce qui est rarement le cas avec les catamarans. Le poste de pilotage, installé au centre, offre une excellente visibilité à 360° sur la mer, mais aussi sur les voiles avec les belles fenêtres du bimini. Une instrumentation, très généreuse en écrans, cadrans et manettes de toutes sortes, permet de contrôler toutes les données du bateau et l’on verra que cette gestion, hors la barre à roue, peut aussi s’effectuer depuis le carré. Le ciel se révélant désespérément bleu et sans nuage, c’est au moteur que s’effectue le retour. Avec 2 x 200 ch diesel, la vitesse de croisière se situe autour de 7,5 nœuds et s’il est possible d’accélérer jusqu’à 11 nœuds, cette allure sera à utiliser avec modération, la consommation grimpant alors à 40 l/h par moteur : avec 3 000 l de carburant dans les réservoirs, cela autorise une autonomie d’environ 400 milles, mais on peut facilement augmenter ce rayon d’action.

Un constat indéniable, la qualité


Avant de s’intéresser aux aménagements intérieurs de ce Privilège Série 7, un tour sur le pont permet d’apprécier la facilité de déplacement, même si les hublots flush ont été remplacés lors du refit. Le rostre à l’avant, entre les deux coques, s’avère plus sûr et plus pratique qu’un simple trampoline lors des manœuvres de voile ou de mouillage. En repassant vers l’arrière, le pont latté se fait apprécier tant pour son aspect que pour sa douceur et l’on constate la qualité de fabrication en jetant un coup d’œil sur la série de volées de marches qui descendent depuis le passavant : quatre marches donnent accès au cockpit, deux autres arrivent sur la plate-forme hydraulique qui supporte une superbe annexe hydrojet Carbon Craft, et enfin quatre degrés supplémentaires conduisent à la plage de bain. Un bel escalier en colimaçon grimpe vers le flybridge où l’on découvre un espace dédié à la convivialité avec salon, cuisine extérieure et un superbe… jacuzzi. Histoire de déguster un cocktail maison au soleil couchant depuis sa terrasse avec vue sur mer, délicatement massé par les jets à bulles. Une certaine image du bonheur…
En bas, le cockpit est lui totalement protégé par la longue casquette du flybridge. Les banquettes y trônent à profusion, avec table et meuble bas vernis, et le plancher dissimule bien des volumes de rangement. Une large baie à double battant conduit au carré et tout de suite la douce structure en courbes légères crée une atmosphère accueillante et cosy. Sur tribord, la large table à cartes ressemble à s’y méprendre à un écran d’Airbus, alors que sur bâbord un long comptoir revêtu de noir permet de recevoir les invités à la perfection. Au fond, de confortables banquettes entourent une table qui, en position basse, devient un « lit de jour ». Dans l’ensemble, le design, que l’on doit à l’agence de Franck Darnet, se distingue par des lignes sobres et d’élégants contrastes entre chêne blanchi satiné et plans de travail en Hi-Macs noir, un mélange d’acrylique, de minéraux et de pigments naturels, le tout noyé de lumière par de nombreux hublots.

Honneur à la master !


En s’engageant dans la coque tribord, on découvre, sur l’arrière, une grande cabine invités avec un lit central : les ouvertures au pont, sur le tableau arrière et dans la coque, diffusent une agréable clarté. En empruntant la coursive vers l’avant, où se trouvent lave-linge, sèche-linge et tableau électrique, on traverse la grande cuisine, elle aussi bénéficiant d’un bel éclairage naturel, pour arriver au poste d’équipage comportant deux cabines, deux salles d’eau et un petit salon. En passant ensuite sur l’autre bord, les aménagements semblent identiques vers l’arrière, mais la partie centrale offre une troisième cabine invités avec deux lits simples. Enfin, il est temps de diriger ses pas vers la suite armateur et cette attente se révèle loin d’être décevante. Installée dans le rostre, donc en partie centrale vers l’avant, et la partie avant de la coque bâbord, elle est superbe. Luxe, calme et volupté : il ne faut pas chercher longtemps pour ressentir cette atmosphère avec, en particulier, le lit king-size qui s’étale en majesté au centre de la pièce avec huit hublots positionnés au-dessus. Ou comment dormir à la belle étoile bien installé et protégé. Si tout semblait parfait sur ce Privilège Série 7, la découverte de ce lieu hors du temps conclut la visite en apothéose. Difficile de s’en extraire, sauf à larguer les amarres.

Fiche technique

Longueur hors-tout
24,83 m
Largeur
10,90 m
Tirant d'eau
2,45 m
Motorisation
2 x 200 ch diesel
Capacité carburant
2 000 l
Eau
1 300 l
Matériau
sandwich PVC en infusion
Surface de grand-voile
160 m2
Surface de génois
104 m2
Architecte naval
Cabinet Marc Lombard
Designer extérieur
Cabinet Marc Lombard
Designer intérieur
Franck Darnet Design
Constructeur
Privilège Marine (Les Sables d’Olonne)

Le magazine actuel