Presentation

Yacht Class n°22 (sept-oct-nov 2020)

Pershing – Ferretti Group

With peaks at 50 knots, the notion of cruise takes on a special meaning. The space / time relationship is turned upside down and we are in the urge to multiply the stops. Especially since the comfort and refinement of the facilities lend themselves to contemplation, for which the time saved in navigation is rightly taken advantage of.

Written by Philippe Leblond – Photos: All rights reserved

The new Pershing 8X is part of the fairly limited caste of yachts, which save time at sea to better enjoy dream moorings and shore excursions. To do this, she uses a hull with fine water inlets, a mass contained thanks to the carbon construction, and above all surface propellers – the mechanical architecture in Pershing’s DNA – which beyond the speed they provide to the 8X, allow her to sign economic returns. Invited to a test in real condition in the bay of Cannes, we were more than happy to take a seat on board. Embark with us for this beating drum test !

The magic of surface propellers

With the help of the stern and bow thrusters, the regular engine idling speed, the smoothness and precision of the electronic throttle and reverse gear controls, port manoeuvres are less delicate, even with surface propellers, a device not really favourable to this type of exercise … In the hands of her captain, the long Italian cigar of 84 feet leaves her location without incident. The technical director of the Ferretti Group takes advantage of the time that separates us from the 300-meter coastal strip, to make it clear that the 8X is not derived from the Pershing 82, but is entirely new, from the keel to the fly. Adding that the construction is 100% carbon fibre (hull, deck, superstructures) to obtain a better weight / power ratio and lower the centre of gravity. Our test boat is the hull number 4 and her planning hull, which displays an angle of 20° at the transom (therefore a rather deep V for a yacht of this size), accommodates two MTU diesels of 2 638 horsepower each, or the optional ride, the basic version being content with the same 16 cylinders in V, but “deflated” at 2 435 horsepower. The powerful German engines here drive shaft lines with surface propellers specially calibrated by Top System for this Pershing. The least we can say is that the result is convincing since we are going to note 50.7 knots at a maximum speed of 2 450 rpm, where the yard announced 48 knots…

A great performance, therefore, which validates a sporty and very pure hull design, with parallel strakes surmounted by a lively chine, but also the weight saving achieved thanks to the carbon fibre construction. This lightness (57 tonnes all the same!) allows the 8X to hover from 1 500 rpm, or 16.5 knots. In the process, the Pershing spreads her wings (like those which support her fly), accelerating energetically as soon as the two propellers have “screwed”, after the usual and necessary phase of ventilation, which makes that the boats equipped with propellers of surface are quite slow to plan. From 1 500 rpm to 2 450 rpm, it’s only happiness, we enjoy seeing the endless foredeck flying over the waves or when looking aft the wake where the propellers tear the sea to erect a crest of foam several meters high, which tilts at the whim of the inner heel of the hull in the large curves that we do one after another with pleasure at the controls of this reactive and precise hull. A delight!

Amazing performance

Another argument in favour of surface propellers, their efficiency once the boat has launched. Realize that from 1 750 to 2 450 rpm, or the first significant cruising speed at maximum speed, the returns are almost the same with, whether at 26.1 knots or 50.7 knots, an autonomy that revolves around 300 miles! Therefore, experiencing the top speed of the 8X becomes tempting. After all, at this pace, Calvi is only two hours away from Cannes… A real ride, which can be just as relaxing for the pilot who can, by reducing the speed to 40 knots, control with one hand with the joystick. A first with surface propellers, with electronic attitude control (trims, flaps), as well as the virtual anchor (inaugurated with the 9X). Another measure is that of the sound level. At 1 900 rpm, our sound level meter reads 81 decibels in the master and 77 in the wheelhouse, rather high values, but to relate to the speed, which is already… 35 knots. Well installed in front of his dashboard, both aesthetic and functional, the captain can interact with two “co-pilots” since the 8X offers three beautiful Poltrona Frau leather armchairs. Visibility is excellent thanks, in particular, to discrete fly uprights. Also appreciable, the two side doors giving direct access to the gangways… Despite the presence of the flybridge, part of the roof, above the wheelhouse, opens electrically to ventilate the lower level. The upper cockpit provides almost the same comfort as that of the main deck with three comfortable seats, too. Back at the port, let the crew secure the moorings to take a closer look at the 8X in her static aspect…

Underwater sound system

Yes, but even off, the Pershing seems to be moving! This is thanks to her dynamic profile, due to the expert hand of Fulvio De Simoni, official designer of the brand created by Tilli Antonelli in 1985. With her allure of sport-fly which, while exploiting the upper surface to offer a second position of piloting and a large solarium avoiding invasive superstructures, the Pershing with her metallic silver colour turns heads. Not to mention the rear side wings, which add a “spaceship” dimension. In short, it is difficult not to succumb to this advantageous “figure”, illustrating the philosophy of this project, which has always been geared towards speed. The large swim platform is served by two wide staircases, via 8X logo doors, framing the tender garage where a Williams semi-rigid is housed. The cockpit (22 m2) has a huge solarium, which is added to those of the foredeck and the fly, this triptych of idleness offering an unusual surface. A small salon and a large bench complete this place of relaxation that allows you to appreciate the aesthetic prowess that is the integration of the staircase leading up to the fly in the port carbon wing. Qualified as a sundeck, the fly therefore offers a large sunbed keeping company on the upper helmstation. Still outside, the foredeck consists of a comfortable lounge and a large-sized solarium, all of which can be shaded by the presence of a bimini stretched by four carbon poles. The latter will be appreciated when the lounge is converted into a dinette.

Inside, the layout of the main deck is hardly surprising: between two generous bay windows, there is a large U-shaped sofa, a dining room for six (eight squeezing), then the wheelhouse. Dining room which, on request, can be replaced by a bar with high stools. It should be noted immediately that the kitchen is located on the lower deck, accessible by the staircase, which serves the crew quarters comprising two cabins (one with double bed for the captain, the other with two berths for the sailors) sharing a shower room. As for the guests, they are divided into three double cabins (a VIP in the bow and two twins), each with a bathroom while the owner occupies a large suite, full width, in the centre of the ship: small office, dressing room, refined bathroom frame a 200 x 180 cm bed. Two large “windows” provide natural light. This yacht has everywhere a headroom of two meters.

Finally, it is the Italian company Videoworks who installed the video and sound equipment for the X8, the must being the “Music-Hull”: the possibility to listen to music underwater when swimming or diving near the boat thanks to an innovative Hi-Fi system…

What else? 

Technical sheet

Overall length
25,55 m
Width
5,86 m
Draft
1,40 m
Fuel capacity
6 200 l
Water
1 300 l
Material
carbone et Vinylester (coque) carbone et Epoxy (pont et superstructures)
Displacement
lège : 57 t
Motorization
2 x MTU 16V 2000 M96 ou M96L
Power
2 x 2 435 ch ou 2 x 2 638 ch
Maximum speed
50,7 nds
Autonomy at
42 nds : 315 milles
Price
Excl T: 4 980 000 €
Naval architect
Fulvio De Simoni et Ferretti Group’s Engineering Departement
Designer ext.
Fulvio De Simoni et Ferretti Group’s Product Strategy Comittee
Interior designer
Ferretti Group’s Product Strategy Comittee et Poltrona Frau
Builder
Pershing – Ferretti Group (Mondolfo - Italie)
Importer
Abys Yachting (Antibes et Monaco)

The current magazine

Présentation

Yacht Class n°22 (sept-oct-nov 2020)

Pershing – Ferretti Group


Avec des pointes à 50 nœuds, la notion de croisière prend un relief singulier. La relation espace/temps s’en trouve bouleversée et on se prend à l’envie de multiplier les escales. D’autant que le confort et le raffinement des installations prêtent à la contemplation, pour laquelle le temps gagné en navigation est mis justement à profit.


Texte : Philippe Leblond – Photos : DR


Le nouveau Pershing 8X fait partie de la caste assez restreinte de ces yachts qui permettent de gagner du temps en mer pour mieux profiter des mouillages de rêve et des excursions à terre. Pour cela, il fait appel à une carène aux entrées d’eau fines, à une masse contenue grâce à la construction carbone, et surtout à des hélices de surface – l’architecture mécanique dans l’ADN de Pershing – qui au-delà de la vélocité qu’elles procurent au 8X, lui permettent de signer des rendements économiques. Invité à un test en condition réelle dans la baie de Cannes, nous ne nous sommes pas fait prier pour prendre place à bord. Embarquez avec nous pour cet essai mené tambour battant !


La magie des hélices de surface


Avec les aides que sont les propulseurs de poupe et de proue, le régime régulier des moteurs au ralenti, la douceur et la précision des commandes électroniques de gaz et d’inversion de marche, les manœuvres de port sont moins délicates, même avec des hélices de surface, dispositif pas vraiment favorable à ce type d’exercice… Aux mains de son capitaine, le long cigare italien de 84 pieds quitte son emplacement sans encombre. Le directeur technique du Ferretti Group profite du laps de temps qui nous sépare de la bande littorale des 300 mètres, pour bien nous préciser que le 8X n’est pas dérivé du Pershing 82, mais est entièrement nouveau, de la quille jusqu’au fly. Ajoutant que la construction est 100% fibre de carbone (coque, pont, superstructures) pour obtenir un meilleur rapport poids/puissance et abaisser le centre de gravité. Notre bateau d’essai est l’exemplaire numéro 4 et sa carène planante, qui affiche un angle de 20° au tableau arrière (donc un V plutôt profond pour un yacht de cette dimension), héberge deux diesels MTU de 2 638 chevaux chacun, soit la monte optionnelle, la version de base se contentant des mêmes 16 cylindres en V, mais « dégonflés » à 2 435 chevaux. Les puissants moteurs allemands entraînent ici des lignes d’arbre avec hélices de surfaces spécialement calibrées par Top System pour ce Pershing. Le moins que l’on puisse dire c’est que le résultat est probant puisque nous allons relever 50,7 nœuds au régime maxi de 2 450 tr/min, là où le chantier annonçait 48 nœuds…
Belle performance donc qui valide un dessin de carène sportif et d’une grande pureté, avec virures parallèles surmontées d’un bouchain vif, mais aussi l’économie de poids réalisée grâce à la construction en fibre de carbone. Cette légèreté (57 tonnes tout de même !) permet au 8X de planer dès 1 500 tr/min, soit 16,5 nœuds. Dans la foulée, le Pershing déploie ses ailes (comme celles qui soutiennent son fly), accélérant énergiquement dès lors que les deux hélices ont « vissé », après l’habituelle et nécessaire phase de ventilation qui fait que les bateaux équipés d’hélices de surface sont assez lents à déjauger. De 1 500 tr/min à 2 450 tr/min, ce n’est que du bonheur, que l’on savoure de voir l’interminable pont avant survoler les flots ou que l’on se tourne vers le sillage où les hélices déchirent la mer pour dresser une crête d’écume de plusieurs mètres de hauteur, laquelle s’incline au gré de la gîte intérieure de la coque dans les grandes courbes que nous enchaînons avec plaisir aux commandes de cette carène réactive et précise. Un régal !


Des rendements épatants


Autre argument en faveur des hélices de surface, leur efficience une fois le bateau lancé. Rendez-vous compte que de 1 750 à 2 450 tr/min, soit de la première allure de croisière significative à la vitesse maxi, les rendements sont quasiment les mêmes avec, que ce soit à 26,1 nœuds ou à 50,7 nœuds, une autonomie qui tourne autour de 300 milles ! Dès lors, éprouver la pointe de vitesse du 8X devient tentant. Après tout, à cette allure, Calvi n’est qu’à deux heures de Cannes… Une vraie balade, qui peut s’avérer tout aussi reposante pour le pilote qui peut, en réduisant l’allure à 40 nœuds, piloter d’une seule main avec le joystick. Une première avec des hélices de surface, avec contrôle électronique de l’assiette (trims, flaps), ainsi que l’ancre virtuelle (inaugurée avec le 9X). Autre mesure, celle du niveau sonore. A 1 900 tr/min, notre sonomètre relève 81 décibels dans la master et 77 au poste de pilotage, des valeurs plutôt élevées, mais à rapporter à la vitesse qui est déjà de… 35 nœuds.
Bien installé face à son tableau de bord, tant esthétique que fonctionnel, le capitaine peut échanger avec deux « copilotes » puisque le 8X offre trois beaux fauteuils tendus de cuir Poltrona Frau. La visibilité est excellente grâce, notamment, à des montants de fly discrets. Appréciables aussi, les deux portes latérales donnant accès direct aux passavants… En dépit de la présence du flybridge, une partie du toit, au-dessus de la timonerie, s’ouvre électriquement pour aérer le niveau inférieur. Le poste de pilotage supérieur dispense à peu près le même confort que celui du pont principal avec, lui aussi, trois confortables sièges. De retour au port, laissons l’équipage tourner les amarres pour nous intéresser de plus près au 8X dans son aspect statique…


Sonorisation sous-marine


Oui, mais même à l’arrêt, le Pershing semble en mouvement ! Ceci grâce à son profil dynamique, dû à la main experte de Fulvio De Simoni, designer attitré de la marque créée par Tilli Antonelli en 1985. Avec son allure de sport-fly qui, tout en exploitant la surface supérieure pour offrir un second poste de pilotage et un grand solarium évite des superstructures envahissantes, le Pershing avec sa couleur argent métallisé fait tourner les têtes. Sans parler des ailes latérales arrière qui ajoutent une dimension « vaisseau spatial ». Bref, difficile de ne pas succomber à cette « plastique » avantageuse qui illustre bien la philosophie de ce chantier, depuis toujours tourné vers la vitesse. La grande plateforme de bain est desservie par deux larges escaliers, via des portillons siglés 8X, encadrant le garage à annexe où loge un semi-rigide Williams. Le cockpit (22 m2) dispose d’un immense solarium qui vient s’ajouter à ceux du pont avant et du fly, ce triptyque de farniente proposant une surface peu commune. Un petit carré et une grande banquette complètent ce lieu de détente qui permet d’apprécier la prouesse esthétique que constitue l’intégration de l’escalier qui monte au fly dans l’aile de carbone bâbord. Qualifié de sundeck, le fly offre donc un grand bain de soleil tenant compagnie au poste de pilotage supérieur. Toujours à l’extérieur, le pont avant se compose d’un confortable lounge et d’un solarium de belles dimensions, le tout pouvant être ombragé par la présence d’un bimini tendu par quatre perches en carbone. Ce dernier sera apprécié lorsque le lounge sera converti en dînette.
A l’intérieur, l’agencement du pont principal ne réserve guère de surprise : entre deux généreuses baies vitrées, se succèdent un grand canapé en U, une salle à manger pour six convives (huit en se serrant), puis le poste de pilotage. Salle à manger qui, sur demande, peut être remplacée par un bar avec tabourets hauts. Précisons tout de suite que la cuisine se situe au pont inférieur, accessible par l’escalier qui dessert les quartiers d’équipage comportant deux cabines (l’une avec lit double pour le capitaine, l’autre avec deux couchettes pour les marins) se partageant une salle d’eau. Pour ce qui est des invités, ils se répartissent dans trois cabines doubles (un VIP dans l’étrave et deux twins), chacune dotée d’une salle d’eau tandis que le propriétaire occupe une grande suite, pleine largeur, au centre du navire : petit bureau, dressing, salle de bain raffinée encadrent un lit de 200 x 180 cm. Deux grandes « fenêtres » diffusent la lumière naturelle. Partout, la hauteur sous barrots est de deux mètres.
Enfin, c’est l’entreprise italienne Videoworks qui a installé le matériel vidéo et sonore du X8, le must étant le « Music-Hull » : la possibilité d’écouter de la musique sous l’eau lorsqu’on nage ou plonge près du bateau grâce à un système Hi-Fi innovant… What else ?

Fiche technique

Longueur hors-tout
25,55 m
Largeur
5,86 m
Tirant d'eau
1,40 m
Capacité carburant
6 200 l
Eau
1 300 l
Matériau
carbone et Vinylester (coque) carbone et Epoxy (pont et superstructures)
Déplacement
lège : 57 t
Motorisation
2 x MTU 16V 2000 M96 ou M96L
Puissance
2 x 2 435 ch ou 2 x 2 638 ch
Vitesse maxi
50,7 nds
Autonomie à
42 nds : 315 milles
Architecte naval
Fulvio De Simoni et Ferretti Group’s Engineering Departement
Designer extérieur
Fulvio De Simoni et Ferretti Group’s Product Strategy Comittee
Designer intérieur
Ferretti Group’s Product Strategy Comittee et Poltrona Frau
Constructeur
Pershing – Ferretti Group (Mondolfo - Italie)
Importateur
Abys Yachting (Antibes et Monaco)

Le magazine actuel