Presentation

Yacht Class n°15 (dec 2018/jan-feb 2019)

Ice Yachts

Since 2012, the Italian shipyard Ice Yachts, with undeniable know-how, has developed a range of cruisers where performance never harms comfort. ICE 60, signed Umberto Felci, is swift in the air and her amenities, simple but marine, presage navigations of standing

Written by: Christophe Varène – Photos: All rights reserved

After the frenzy of the last Yachting Festival in Cannes, how sweet it is to go for a boat trip, to savour moments of tranquillity and wholeness, and finally to enjoy sailing aboard one of these magnificent sailing boats that make so many sailors dream, so passionate about the sea and the wind. If, moreover, the yacht ready to embark you is racy, elegant and timeless, then, the pleasure intensifies. The ICE 60, wisely moored dock Maxime Laubeuf in Cannes, is a fast cruiser, modern, with electric blue dress and taut, clean lines. Well in the current line of transalpine productions, with straight bow, wide stern and light superstructures, this yacht, although a young shipyard, has a character already asserted, and it is not surprising when we discover her origins: her architect is none other than Umberto Felci to whom we owe, for example, the Felci 61, which is inspired by the ICE 60. The construction site is located in Salvirola, near Milan, in the old installations CN Yachts 2000, from which more than 80 yachts have been released in the last 30 years. The know-how, the experience and the demand are therefore key words in this company founded by Marco Malaga in 2012, after the acquisition of Yachts 2000. Today, the Ice Yachts catalogue represents eight monohulls from 33 to 100 feet and two catamarans of 61 and 67 feet, the latter still being planned.

It slides on the water effortlessly

On this beautiful autumn morning, the crew embarks on the ICE 60 Joy – a name just like the programme! – by the wide rear platform, which discovers a garage able to shelter an annex of 3.20 m. As efficient as an electro-hydraulic system, although lighter, a simple hoist – well multiplied and hidden in a trunk – can raise this bathing range and cast off. With her powerful 150hp engine, Joy leaves the dock and the bow thruster, useful to fight against wind-up when the wind blows or to exit a crowded port, helps. Once the pier has passed, it is time to send the wing. The Southern Spars mast and boom are made of carbon, and the mainsail runs with ease provided that it is given the right angle and using the fast speed of the electric winch. The genoa unfolds in stride and, with 220 m2 of sails Diamond Saildesign, the ICE 60 shivers in a small breeze of 10 knots. The perpetual quest for weight gain is proving effective – Joy is built with fiberglass and carbon sandwich infusion for a displacement of less than 18 t – and the hull seems to glide effortlessly over the water. The near edges, towards the Lérins Islands, allow to appreciate the ability of the sailboat to go up close to the wind: at 29 ° of apparent wind, the speedometer announces 7.2 nodes. The inclination of the boat is reasonable, but in the windings the helmsman appreciates the retractable board serving as footrests. It is then possible for him to make the most of the bar quality of the ICE 60: the touch is precise, the immediate reactions. A rush approached, we fell a little and at 50 ° from the wind, the speed climbed from 7.5 to 9.0 knots and then to 10 by opening the sails a little.

In front of the helmsman, a large screen allows a fast visualization of the data and a large battery of buttons offers the possibility to manage the reels, the mainsail trolley, the windlass, the lights … Four winches in the cockpit and two close to the descent makes it possible to control all manoeuvres and sail settings. The hydraulic controls for the backstay and the boom downhole are located next to the port helm station. The absence of the gennaker on board does not allow to push the performance downwind: damage, because with its 320 m2, it would surely give excellent results in these little tunes. The flush bridge helps make traveling easy and safe, and while genuine teak has a certain nobility, the synthetic coating of our test boat has the advantage of being lightweight and quick to maintain. Sheltered by the islands of Sainte-Marguerite and Saint-Honorat, Joy returns to the motor, the opportunity to appreciate its silence – closed doors in the front cabin, difficult to know if it works or not – and its effectiveness: if the top speed is higher than 10 knots, the cruising speed is around 8 knots, around 2,000 rpm, for less than 10 l / h of consumption. For the regatta enthusiast, the yard offers options to further sharpen the ICE 60 (removal of the 350 kg retractor boom, lengthening the keel from 2.80 m draft to 3 , 40 m …), but as it turns out Joy is quick and easy to manoeuvre with a reduced crew.

Very bright interiors

Convinced by the sailing qualities of the ICE 60, let’s see her ability to make cruises comfortable at sea, but also at anchor … As we have seen, the rear deck is welcoming, and the cockpit is not to be outdone with its large benches and foldable central table that augur well for dinners on the terrace. Storage boxes at the top of the descent prevent the halyards and plays from hanging outside the navigation phases. The five steps of the descent, a little steep but provided with two solid vertical handrails – two more are placed at the corners near the chart table and near the living room – give access to the vast square. Very bright with plenty of portholes (hull, deckhouse, deck), its bright colours, with touches of wood deposited here and there, enlarges this beautiful volume that opens to the kitchen. It seems functional, including in navigation, thanks to its U shape and its beautiful dimensions, while being friendly, close to passengers in the lounge. Opposite, a cabin with bunk beds can be used for the crew, better installed here than in a front post often cramped, or space to install washing machine and dryer. At the bottom of the descent, on the starboard side and at the end of the small bench in the living room, the chart table occupies a small space, the electronics requiring less space than the classic paper maps. The owner’s cabin, with en suite shower room, occupies the entire front with a large double bed on a central island, for once, low enough. If there are many storage units and wardrobes around this cabin, a nice storage space is under the bed that is easily lifted with two powerful pneumatic cylinders. To the rear two beautiful guest cabins are located on both sides of the descent, one with double bed, the other with two single beds. Two bathrooms, one of which is private from one of the cabins, complete the facilities. The ICE 60 is also available with a three-cabin configuration: the kitchen returns to a more usual position at the foot of the descent and the crew cabin space removed is integrated into the square that gains in area with a more spacious map table.

A regatta version

Racy, swift and comfortable, the ICE 60 is a yacht that is in tune with the times, with a programme that leaves the choice between regatta and cruising. Of course, depending on whether the owner is leaning more towards one or the other of these activities, the site proposes variants of optimization. Fierce racers can opt, for example, for a full carbon deck, a lifting keel, carbon rudders or a Park Avenue boom; all of these elements reduce the weight estimate and, most likely, improve performance. Cruisers can be tempted, for example, by an elegant and warm teak deck, a desalinator, solarium cushions and a wine cellar. Whatever the decisions made, the Ice Yachts shipyard brings a high level of quality to the construction and care of the finishes. Then, between a fire-rated ICE 60 or a cool-action ICE 60, each ship owner will find the temperature that suits him.

Reactive to the slightest risk, the ICE 60 relies on the list on its large freeboard, lengthens its waterline and lets appreciate its large cockpit where the manoeuvres are grouped.

Technical sheet

Overall length
17,99 m
Width
5,20 m
Draft
2,85 m
Motorization
150 ch
Fuel capacity
650 l
Water
1 000 l
Material
sandwich fibre de verre/carbone
Displacement
17,9 t
Mainsail area
130 m2
Genoa area
90 m2
Gennaker area
320 m2
Price excl.
1 152 000 €
Naval architect
Umberto Felci
Designer ext.
Felci Yacht Design
Builder
Ice Yachts (Salvirola - Italie)
Importer
Bernard Galay YB (Montpellier)

The current magazine

Présentation

Yacht Class n°15 (dec 2018/jan-fev 2019)

Ice Yachts

Depuis 2012, le chantier italien Ice Yachts, au savoir-faire incontestable, a développé une gamme de croiseurs où la performance ne nuit jamais au confort. L’ICE 60, signé Umberto Felci, se montre véloce dans les petits airs et ses aménagements, simples mais marins, laissent présager des navigations de standing.

Texte : Christophe Varène – Photos : D.R et l’auteur.

Après la frénésie du dernier Yachting Festival de Cannes, qu’il est doux de partir faire un tour en mer, de savourer des instants de quiétude et de plénitude, de profiter enfin de la navigation à bord de l’un de ces magnifiques voiliers qui font rêver tant de marins, tant de passionnés de la mer et du vent. Si, en plus, le yacht prêt à vous embarquer est racé, élégant et intemporel, alors, le plaisir s’intensifie. L’ICE 60, sagement amarré quai Maxime Laubeuf à Cannes, est un croiseur rapide, moderne, à la robe bleu électrique et aux lignes tendues, épurées. Bien dans la lignée actuelle des productions transalpines, avec étrave droite, poupe large et superstructures légères, ce yacht, bien qu’issu d’un jeune chantier, possède un caractère déjà affirmé, et cela ne surprend pas lorsque l’on découvre ses origines : son architecte n’est autre qu’Umberto Felci à qui l’on doit, par exemple, le Felci 61, dont s’inspire l’ICE 60. Le chantier est installé à Salvirola, aux environs de Milan, dans les anciennes installations de CN Yachts 2000, d’où sont sortis plus de 80 yachts dans ces 30 dernières années. Le savoir-faire, l’expérience et l’exigence sont donc des maîtres-mots dans cette entreprise fondée par Marco Malaga en 2012, après le rachat de Yachts 2000. Aujourd’hui, le catalogue Ice Yachts représente huit monocoques de 33 à 100 pieds et deux catamarans de 61 et 67 pieds, ce dernier étant encore en projet.

Il glisse sur l’eau sans effort

En cette belle matinée automnale, l’équipage embarque sur l’ICE 60 Joy – un nom à l’image du programme ! – par la large plate-forme arrière qui découvre un garage capable d’abriter une annexe de 3,20 m. Aussi efficace, mais moins lourd qu’un système électro-hydraulique, un simple palan – bien démultiplié et caché dans un coffre – permet de relever cette plage de bain et de larguer les amarres. Avec son puissant moteur de 150 ch, Joy quitte le quai et le propulseur d’étrave, bien utile pour lutter contre le fardage lorsque le vent souffle ou pour sortir d’un port encombré, apporte son aide. Une fois le môle dépassé, il est temps d’envoyer la voilure. Le mât et la bôme à enrouleur, signés Southern Spars, sont en carbone, et la grand-voile se déroule avec facilité pourvu qu’on lui donne le bon angle et en utilisant la vitesse rapide du winch électrique. Le génois se déploie dans la foulée et, avec 220 m2 de voilure siglée Diamond Saildesign, l’ICE 60 frémit dans une petite brise de 10 nœuds. La quête perpétuelle sur le gain de poids s’avère efficace – Joy est construit en infusion de sandwich fibre de verre et carbone pour un déplacement de moins de 18 t – et la coque semble glisser sur l’eau sans effort. Les bords de près, vers les îles de Lérins, permettent d’apprécier la capacité du voilier à remonter au plus près du vent : à 29° de vent apparent, le speedomètre annonce 7,2 nœuds. La gite reste raisonnable, mais dans les surventes le barreur au vent apprécie la planche rétractable servant de cale-pieds. Il lui est alors possible de profiter au mieux de la qualité de barre de l’ICE 60 : le toucher est précis, les réactions immédiates. Une risée s’approche, on abat un peu et, à 50° du vent, la vitesse grimpe de 7,5 à 9,0 nœuds puis à 10 en ouvrant un peu les voiles.
Devant le barreur, un écran de grande taille permet une visualisation rapide des données et une large batterie de boutons offre la possibilité de gérer les enrouleurs, le chariot de grand voile, le guindeau, les éclairages… Quatre winches dans le cockpit et deux proches de la descente permettent de contrôler toutes les manœuvres et réglages de voiles. Les commandes hydrauliques du pataras et du hale-bas de bôme se situent à côté du poste de barre bâbord. L’absence du gennaker à bord n’autorise pas de pousser les performances au portant : dommage, car avec ses 320 m2, il aurait sûrement donner d’excellents résultats dans ces petits airs. Le pont flush contribue à rendre les déplacements faciles et sûrs et, si le teck véritable garde une certaine noblesse, le revêtement synthétique de notre bateau d’essai possède l’avantage de la légèreté et d’un entretien rapide. Abrité par les îles Sainte-Marguerite et Saint-Honorat, le retour de Joy se passe au moteur, l’occasion d’apprécier son silence – portes fermées dans la cabine avant, difficile de savoir s’il fonctionne ou pas – et son efficacité : si la vitesse de pointe est supérieure à 10 nœuds, la vitesse de croisière se situe aux alentours de 8 nœuds, vers 2 000 tr/min, pour moins de 10 l/h de consommation. Pour les amateurs de régates, le chantier propose des options afin d’affûter davantage l’ICE 60 (suppression de la bôme à enrouleur qui pèse 350 kg, allongement de la quille pour passer de 2,80 m de tirant d’eau à 3,40 m…), mais tel qu’il se présente Joy se montre véloce et facile à manœuvrer en équipage réduit.

Des intérieurs très lumineux


Convaincu par les qualités véliques de l’ICE 60, voyons sa capacité à rendre les croisières confortables en mer, mais aussi au mouillage… On l’a vu, la plate-forme arrière se montre accueillante, et le cockpit n’est pas en reste avec ses larges banquettes et sa table centrale repliable qui laissent augurer de sympathiques dîners en terrasse. Des coffres de rangement en haut de la descente évitent que les drisses et écoutes ne trainent en dehors des phases de navigation. Les cinq marches de la descente, un peu raide mais pourvue de deux solides mains courantes verticales – deux autres sont placées aux angles près de la table à cartes et près du salon – donnent accès au vaste carré. Très lumineux avec abondance de hublots (coque, rouf, pont), son habillage aux couleurs claires, avec des touches de bois déposées ici et là, agrandit ce beau volume qui s’ouvre jusqu’à la cuisine. Celle-ci semble fonctionnelle, y compris en navigation, grâce à sa forme en U et à ses belles dimensions, tout en étant conviviale, proche des passagers dans le salon. En vis-à-vis, une cabine avec lits superposés peut servir à l’équipage, mieux installé ici que dans un poste avant bien souvent exigu, ou d’espace pour installer lave-linge et sèche-linge. En bas de la descente, sur tribord et au bout de la petite banquette du salon, la table à cartes occupe un espace réduit, l’électronique requérant moins de place que les classiques cartes papier. La cabine propriétaire, avec salle d’eau privative, occupe toute la partie avant avec un grand couchage double posé sur un îlot central, pour une fois, assez bas. Si de nombreux rangements et penderies sont répartis autour de cette cabine, un beau volume de stockage se trouve sous le couchage qui se soulève aisément avec deux puissants vérins pneumatiques. Vers l’arrière deux belles cabines invités se situent de part et d’autre de la descente, l’une avec couchage double, l’autre avec deux lits simples. Deux cabinets de toilette, dont l’un privatif depuis l’une des cabines, complètent les aménagements. L’ICE 60 est également disponible avec une configuration à trois cabines : la cuisine retrouve une place plus habituelle au pied de la descente et l’espace de la cabine équipage supprimée est intégré dans le carré qui gagne en superficie avec une table à cartes plus spacieuse.

Une version régate


Racé, véloce et confortable, l’ICE 60 est un yacht bien dans l’air du temps, avec un programme qui laisse le choix entre régate et croisière. Bien sûr, selon que le propriétaire penche davantage vers l’une ou l’autre de ces activités, le chantier propose des variantes d’optimisation. Les régatiers acharnés peuvent ainsi opter, entre autres, pour un pont entièrement en carbone, une quille relevable, des safrans carbone ou une bôme Park Avenue ; tous ces éléments réduisent le devis de poids et améliorent, très probablement, les performances. Les adeptes de la croisière se laissent davantage tenter, par exemple, par un pont en teck élégant et chaleureux, un dessalinisateur, des coussins pour solarium et une cave à vins. Quelles que soient les décisions prises, le chantier Ice Yachts apporte un haut niveau de qualité dans la construction et dans le soin apporté aux finitions. Alors, entre un ICE 60 au tempérament de feu ou un ICE 60 au comportement cool, chaque armateur trouvera la température qui lui convient.

Réactif à la moindre risée, l’ICE 60 s’appuie à la gîte sur son franc-bord important, allonge sa flottaison et laisse apprécier son vaste cockpit où se regroupent les manœuvres.

Fiche technique

Longueur hors-tout
17,99 m
Largeur
5,20 m
Tirant d'eau
2,85 m
Motorisation
150 ch
Capacité carburant
650 l
Eau
1 000 l
Matériau
sandwich fibre de verre/carbone
Déplacement
17,9 t
Surface de grand-voile
130 m2
Surface de génois
90 m2
Surface Gennaker
320 m2
Prix HT
à partir de : 1 152 000 €
Architecte naval
Umberto Felci
Designer extérieur
Felci Yacht Design
Constructeur
Ice Yachts (Salvirola - Italie)
Importateur
Bernard Galay YB (Montpellier)

Le magazine actuel