Presentation

Yacht Class n°24 (march-april-may 2021)

Capelli

Member of Capelli’s famous “Luxury Line”, the T40 was launched in 2016, four years after the T44, first in this prestigious range. Although it looks like it, the T40 is one metre shorter in length, but above all half a metre less in width. The result is a smaller deck area and the removal of the second cabin. On the other hand, the T40 only requires two outboards to reach 50 knots at full throttle, when the T44 needs three. These two major differences make the range effect coherent, and we also find it in the substantial price difference : 290 325 € HT with 2 x Yamaha 425 hp for the T40 against 402 500 e HT with 3 x Yamaha 425 hp.

Written by: Philippe Leblond – Photos: Lionel Beylot

The T40’s deck is nonetheless very comfortable and user-friendly, thanks to its U-shaped settee which, with its large electrically height-adjustable table, forms a dinette for eight. This configuration does not deprive sunbathing enthusiasts of a spacious sunbed directly connected to the swim platform. Under this solarium is a huge, compartmentalized storage area. Its volume would easily accommodate a second double berth, but the yard did not plan this. This limits the T40 to couple cruising. Facing the dinette, the kitchenette houses a sink and a large refrigerator. Circulation on board is easy thanks to the open spaces and the walkways secured by the handrail of the cabin deckhouse.

The helm station is praiseworthy for the protection and the driving ergonomics it offers, whether standing or, during long trips on calm seas, sitting with the addition of a teak footrest. The dashboard has enough space for the Yamaha instrumentation (Helm Master EX with joystick) and a navigation system with a large screen. The forward sunbed occupies the entire deck, dominated by a voluminous bow nose integrating the anchor and its windlass, with local controls.

All the comfort for a week-end gateway for two

Let’s head to the cabin ! Behind the smoked plexiglass door, a few steps leads inside, where we stand on the ceruse wood-style grey floor also covering the cupboards at the entrance and the bathroom partition. The other surfaces are dressed with a light imitation leather lining. The decoration of the T44 was already sober, the T40 is even more so… Given the price, one might have expected a slightly more refined interior, even if the finish is not to blame. The bathroom offers a comfort that will be appreciated on a cruise : washbasin, shower with hot water, and toilet we would have preferred coffered, for elegance. This cabin, with a headroom of 1.75 m at the entrance (1.72 m in the bathroom), has a large double berth, convertible into a small dinette, a comfort allowing to consider longer cruises than just a weekend.

As expected, out of the three large Capelli, the T40 is the one providing the most steering sensations. The main reason for this is that, despite its more “modest” engine configuration (850 hp all the same !) its size and weight are more controlled. In fact, it proves to be more reactive (only 3”5 to go from zero to 20 knots !) and more maneuverable in the demanding development we imposed during this test. As it demonstrated in the tight turns in sport mode : a clear control, an accurate guidance, a constant and firm grip, and full traction re-acceleration out of the turns. It also felt good in high revs, with a course stability and the lack of roll, even when the trim was used to get the last tenths of knots. And at cruising speeds, the passage in a residual swell of 60 to 80 cm is very smooth with interesting engine performance : at 3 000 rpm (22.3 knots) consumption is only 60 liters per hour … with a range of 219 miles, worthy of a cruising boat. At the same time, with its two V8 engines, the T40 has all the attributes of a supertender !  


Overall length: 12,18 m

Max beam: 3,54 m

Max Power: 2 x 425 hp (588,8 kW) 

Weight: 3 900 kg 

Sleeping arrangements: 2

Fuel: 650 l

CE Category: B

Price excl taxes: 290 325 € (without engine)

Max speed: 50,2 knots à 6 000 tr/min with 2 x Yamaha 425 hp

Fast cruising speed: 37,4 knots at 4 500 tr/min

Economic cruising speed: 22,3 knots at 3 000 tr/min

Time to get out of the water: 4,9 secondes

Acceleration from 0 to 20 knots: 3,8 secondes

Consumption at best efficiency: 59,7 l/h at 3 000 tr/min

Autonomy at best performance: 219 milles at 22,3 knots

The current magazine

Présentation

Yacht Class n°24 (mars-avril-mai 2021)

Capelli


Membre de la fameuse « Luxury Line » de Capelli, le T40 a été lancé en 2016, soit quatre années après le T44, premier maillon de cette gamme prestigieuse. S’il lui ressemble, le T40 mesure un mètre de moins en longueur, mais surtout un demi-mètre de moins en largeur. Il en résulte une surface de pont moindre et la suppression de la seconde cabine. Par contre, pour atteindre les 50 nœuds à plein régime, le T40 se contente de deux hors-bord, alors qu’il en faut trois au T44. Avec ses deux différences majeures, l’effet de gamme est cohérent, on le retrouve d’ailleurs dans l’écart substantiel de prix : 290 325 € HT avec 2 x Yamaha 425 ch pour le T40 contre 402 500 € HT avec 3 x Yamaha 425 ch.


Texte : Philippe Leblond – Photos Lionel Beylot


Le pont du T40, n’en demeure pas moins très confortable et convivial, grâce à sa banquette en U qui, avec sa grande table réglable en hauteur électriquement, forme un carré pour huit convives. Cette configuration ne prive pas les amateurs de bronzette d’un spacieux solarium en prise directe avec la plate-forme de bain. Sous ce solarium, une immense cale de rangement, compartimentée. Son volume permettrait d’y loger aisément une seconde couchette double, mais le chantier ne l’a pas prévu. Ce qui cantonne le T40 à la croisière « en amoureux ». Face au carré, la kitchenette abrite un évier et un grand réfrigérateur. Les déplacements à bord, sont aisés, grâce aux espaces libres et aux passavants sécurisés par la main courante du rouf de cabine.
Le poste de pilotage est digne d’éloges. Par la protection et l’ergonomie de conduite qu’il offre, que ce soit debout ou, pour les longs trajets par mer calme, assis avec l’apport d’un cale-pieds en teck. Le tableau de bord dispose d’un espace suffisant pour l’instrumentation Yamaha (Helm Master EX à joystick) et l’intégration d’une centrale de navigation à grand écran. Le solarium avant occupe l’intégralité du pont, dominé par une volumineuse delphinière intégrant l’ancre et son guindeau, avec commandes locales.


Tout le confort pour une escapade week-end à deux


Passons dans la cabine ! La porte en plexi fumé, quelques marches et on se trouve sur le plancher gris façon bois cérusé qui revêt également les placards à l’entrée et la cloison de la salle d’eau. Les autres surfaces son habillées d’un vaigrage en skaï clair. La déco du T44 était déjà sobre, celle du T40 l’est davantage encore… Compte tenu du tarif réclamé, on aurait pu s’attendre à un intérieur un peu plus raffiné, même si la finition n’est pas en cause. Le cabinet de toilette propose un confort qui sera apprécié en croisière : lavabo, douche avec eau chaude, et WC que l’on aurait préférés coffrés, par souci d’élégance. Reste que cette cabine, qui affiche 1,75 m de hauteur à l’entrée (1,72 m dans la salle d’eau), présente une couchette double de grande dimension, convertible en un petit carré, un confort qui permet d’envisager des croisières au-delà du simple week-end.
Comme attendu le T40 est des trois grands Capelli celui qui procure le plus de sensations de pilotage. Bien que plus « modestement » motorisé (850 chevaux tout de même !), son gabarit et son poids plus contenus en sont la raison majeure. De fait, il s’avère plus réactif (seulement 3’’5 pour passer de l’arrêt à 20 nœuds !) et plus maniable dans les évolutions exigeantes que nous lui avons imposées lors de cet essai. Comme il l’a démontré dans les virages serrés, en mode sport : une inscription franche, un guidage précis, un grip constant et ferme, et des relances en pleine motricité en sortie de virage. Les bonnes sensations sont aussi au rendez-vous dans les hauts régimes avec une stabilité de cap et l’absence de roulis, même lorsqu’on va chercher les derniers dixièmes de nœuds à l’aide du trim. Et aux allures de croisière, le passage dans une houle résiduelle de 60 à 80 cm se fait avec une grande douceur avec en exergue des rendements moteurs intéressants : à 3 000 tr/min, soit à 22,3 nœuds, la consommation n’est que de 60 litres/heure… avec à la clé, une autonomie de 219 milles, digne d’un bateau de croisière. Parallèlement, avec ses deux V8, le T40 a tous les attributs d’un supertender !



Longueur : 12,18 m
Largeur : 3,54 m
Puissance maxi : 2 x 425 ch (588,8 kW)
Poids sans moteur : 3 900 kg
Couchages : 2
Capacité carburant : 650 l
Catégorie CE : B
Prix HT sans moteur : 290 325 €
Vitesse maxi : 50,2 nds à 6 000 tr/min avec 2 x Yamaha 425 ch
Vitesse de croisière rapide : 37,4 nds à 4 500 tr/min
Vitesse de croisière économique : 22,3 nds à 3 000 tr/min
Temps de déjaugeage : 4,9 secondes
Accélération de 0 à 20 nds : 3,8 secondes
Consommation au meilleur rendement : 59,7 l/h à 3 000 tr/min
Autonomie au meilleur rendement : 219 milles à 22,3 nds

Le magazine actuel