Presentation

Yacht Class n°25 (june-july-august 2021)

BALI – Chantier Catana

The flagship of the range, the Bali 5.4 performs well in breezy conditions, but her main strengths come from well-designed layouts that merge indoor and outdoor living moments.

Written by Christophe Varène – Photos: Istion, Balibey & A.Rizon

Within the Catana Group founded in 2014 by Olivier Poncin, the philosophy of the two brands (Catana and Bali) is perfectly distinct. With 37 years of experience, the Catana catamarans have built a solid reputation for performance for elitist units, while the very young Bali line, born at the same time as the group, intends to be more accessible, in particular by proposing fittings for the rental world. In less than ten years of existence, the Bali family has experienced a strong development linked to the tremendous growth of the catamaran market, but also thanks to innovative and attractive layouts, and today comprises 11 models, including two motor yachts. The Bali 5.4, as the flagship of this fleet, wants to carry the values of the brand high and a sea trip from Canet-en-Roussillon, where the shipyard is located, gives her the opportunity to prove it.

Easy tacking


The weather conditions are interesting with a steady breeze, which raises a good chop: perfect to judge the behaviour of the boat whose hulls, designed by Xavier Faÿ, with very fine water inlets, are noticeable. All the manoeuvres are carried out from the flybridge on two winches, one of which is electric as standard, positioned on the outside of the boat, which allows good visibility of the operation in progress. The mainsail, of which there is a horned version as an option, is raised at a senatorial pace, then the self-tacking solent is unfurled: immediately the Bali 5.4 shows a good aptitude for speed with 10.7 knots posted for 26 knots of wind and 40 degrees in apparent. Tacks, with this sail plan, are easy, provided that they are carried out with vivacity to take advantage of the boat’s forward motion. A pleasant surprise is that the front platform, which extends to the bows where many competitors use nets, does not knock in a slightly choppy sea. Once the solent has been removed and replaced by a code 0, the speed stabilises at between 8 and 10 knots, accelerating to 11 knots in gusts of 22 knots. This is enough to carry out long sailings without losing time and with a good level of comfort. This positive outing ends with an appreciation of the efficiency of the two 80 hp Yanmar engines (slightly more than the standard 2 x 57 hp) which allow a cruising speed of 7 knots at 1 800 rpm.

The saloon, one of her strong points


If the behaviour at sea is therefore validated, it remains to carry out a tour of the facilities to appreciate the Bali 5.4 as a whole. Before leaving the flybridge, it is time to appreciate the large saloon with two tables well protected under the rigid bimini and the solarium on the rear hatch. As you descend, the impression of narrowness in the cockpit is surprising for a unit of this size, but this is without counting on the “Bali door” effect: manually operated, or electrically operated as an option, the whole of the bay separating the saloon from the cockpit comes to rest under the roof and creates in a few seconds a huge interior/exterior space. Easy to use, this tilt and turn door is one of the strong points of the Bali range, adapting the configuration of the boat to the conditions of navigation and the moments of life. The forward saloon is another of the brand’s strong points: accessible through the gangways or through a door located between the interior navigation station and the galley, the platform occupies all the space between the hulls from the cockpit to the bows. This area is fully usable with benches, table and sunbathing area. At the stern, the fixed platform where the tender is stored with the help of davits is also available in a hydraulic submersible version for less physical use.

The port side hull dedicated to the owner’s suite


The saloon, whether in the open or closed configuration, has a comfortable dining area for eight guests and a bench seat opposite, while forward are the chart table to starboard and the U-shaped galley to port, which conceal the two companionways leading to the cabins. The latter appears functional, even at sea, with its fargues on the furniture, and well equipped. The port hull is, on this boat, entirely dedicated to the owner’s suite, which offers a long perspective from the bow, with shower cabin, bathroom with double sink and dressing room, to the stern, with double bed, desk area, wardrobes and direct access to the cockpit. On the starboard side, three guest cabins take up the space, one with a double bed, another with two single beds and the third at the stern with a double bed, but accessible only from the cockpit. Each has its own private bathroom. Different layouts are available, with up to six cabins plus two crew quarters in the points. Sober and playing on contrasts in colours and materials, the interior design by Lasta Design highlights the general luminosity and the quality finishes. Comfort on board and marine skills, all that remains is to set off to discover new seas and enchanting anchorages.

Technical sheet

Overall length
16,97 m
Width
8,74 m
Draft
1,48 m
Motorization
2 x 57 ch
Fuel capacity
1 200 l
Water
1 200 l
Displacement
22,5 t
Mainsail area
98 m2
Genoa area
-
Surface of self-tacking solent
60 m2
Code 0 surface area
104 m2
Gennaker area
-
Price excl.
à partir de 902 000 €
Naval architect
Xavier Faÿ
Designer ext.
-
Interior designer
Lasta Design Studio
Builder
Chantier Catana (Canet-en-Roussillon)

The current magazine

Présentation

Yacht Class n°25 (juin-juil-août 2021)

BALI – Chantier Catana


Vaisseau amiral de la gamme, le Bali 5.4 fait preuve d’un bon comportement en navigation dans la brise, mais ses principaux atouts viennent d’aménagements bien conçus pour fusionner les instants de vie intérieurs et extérieurs.


Texte : Christophe Varène – Photos : Istion, Balibey et A.Rizon


Au sein du Groupe Catana fondé en 2014 par Olivier Poncin, la philosophie des deux marques (Catana et Bali) se distingue parfaitement. Riches de 37 ans d’expérience, les catamarans Catana se sont forgés une solide réputation de performance pour des unités élitistes, alors que la toute jeune ligne Bali, née en même temps que le groupe, se veut plus accessible, en particulier en proposant des aménagements destinés au monde de la location. En moins de dix années d’existence, la famille Bali a connu un fort développement lié à la formidable croissance du marché des catamarans, mais aussi grâce à des aménagements innovants et séduisants, et comporte aujourd’hui 11 modèles dont deux motor-yachts. Le Bali 5.4, en tant que vaisseau amiral de cette flotte, veut porter haut les valeurs de la marque et une sortie en mer depuis Canet-en-Roussillon où se trouve le chantier lui donne l’occasion de le prouver.


Des virements de bord facilités


Les conditions météo se font intéressantes avec une brise soutenue qui lève un bon clapot : parfait pour bien juger du comportement du bateau dont on remarque les coques, dessinées par Xavier Faÿ, aux entrées d’eau très fines. L’ensemble des manœuvres reviennent au flybridge sur deux winches, dont un électrique en standard, positionnés sur les extérieurs ce qui permet de garder une bonne visibilité sur l’opération en cours. La grand voile, dont il existe une version à corne en option, monte à un rythme de sénateur, puis le solent autovireur est déroulé : aussitôt le Bali 5.4 démontre une belle aptitude à la vitesse avec 10,7 nœuds affichés pour 26 nœuds de vent et 40 degrés en apparent. Les virements de bord, avec ce plan de voilure, se déroulent facilement à condition de les effectuer avec vivacité pour profiter de l’erre du bateau. Bonne surprise, la plateforme avant, qui avance jusqu’aux étraves là où bien des concurrents se dotent de filets, ne cogne pas dans une mer un peu chahuteuse. Après avoir abattu et remplacé le solent par un code 0, la vitesse se stabilise entre 8 et 10 nœuds avec des accélérations à 11 nœuds dans des rafales à 22 nœuds. De quoi effectuer de longues navigations sans perdre de temps et avec un bon niveau de confort. Cette sortie positive s’achève en appréciant l’efficacité des deux moteurs Yanmar de 80 ch (un peu plus que les 2 x 57 ch en standard) qui autorisent une vitesse de croisière de 7 nœuds à 1 800 tr/mn.


Le salon, un de ses points forts


Si le comportement en mer est donc validé, il reste à effectuer un tour des aménagements pour apprécier le Bali 5.4 dans son ensemble. Avant de quitter le flybridge, il est temps d’apprécier son grand salon avec deux tables bien protégé sous le bimini rigide et le solarium sur la casquette arrière. En descendant, l’impression d’étroitesse surprend dans le cockpit pour une unité de cette dimension, mais c’est sans compter sur l’effet « porte Bali » : d’un maniement manuel, ou électrique en option, l’ensemble de la baie séparant le carré du cockpit vient se plaquer sous le toit et crée en quelques secondes un espace intérieur/extérieur immense. Facile d’utilisation, cette porte oscillo-battante constitue l’un des marqueurs forts de la gamme Bali en adaptant la configuration du bateau aux conditions de navigation et aux moments de vie. Le salon avant est l’un des autres points forts de la marque : accessible par les passavants ou par une porte située entre le poste de navigation intérieur et la cuisine, la plateforme occupe tout l’espace entre les coques depuis l’habitacle jusqu’aux étraves. Banquettes, table, bain de soleil se partagent cette zone utilisable dans son intégralité. A l’arrière, la plateforme fixe où vient se ranger l’annexe à l’aide de bossoirs existe aussi en version hydraulique immergeable pour une utilisation moins physique.


La coque bâbord dédiée à la suite propriétaire


Le carré, que l’on soit dans la configuration ouverte ou fermée, présente un coin repas confortable pour huit convives et une banquette en vis-à-vis, tandis que vers l’avant sont placées la table à cartes sur tribord et la cuisine en U sur bâbord qui masquent les deux descentes menant aux cabines. Cette dernière parait fonctionnelle, même en mer, avec ses fargues sur les meubles, et bien équipée. La coque bâbord est, sur ce bateau, entièrement consacrée à la suite propriétaire qui offre ainsi une longue perspective de la proue, avec cabine de douche, salle d’eau avec double vasque et dressing, à la poupe, avec lit double, coin bureau, penderies et accès direct sur le cockpit. Sur tribord, trois cabines invités prennent possession de l’espace, l’une avec couchage double, l’autre avec deux lits simples et la troisième à l’arrière avec couchage double, mais accessible uniquement par le cockpit. Chacune possède sa salle d’eau privative. Différents plans d’aménagements sont proposés, allant jusqu’à six cabines plus deux postes équipage dans les pointes. Sobre et jouant sur les contrastes de couleurs et de matériaux, le design intérieur signé Lasta Design met en valeur la luminosité générale et les finitions de qualité. Confort à bord et aptitudes marines, il ne reste plus qu’à partir à la découverte de nouvelles mers et de mouillages enchanteurs.
Concepteur : Olivier Poncin

Fiche technique

Longueur hors-tout
16,97 m
Largeur
8,74 m
Tirant d'eau
1,48 m
Motorisation
2 x 57 ch
Capacité carburant
1 200 l
Eau
1 200 l
Déplacement
22,5 t
Surface de grand-voile
98 m2
Surface de génois
-
Surface de solent autovireur
60 m2
Surface de Code 0
104 m2
Surface Gennaker
-
Prix HT
à partir de 902 000 €
Architecte naval
Xavier Faÿ
Designer extérieur
-
Designer intérieur
Lasta Design Studio
Constructeur
Chantier Catana (Canet-en-Roussillon)

Le magazine actuel