Presentation

Yacht Class n°29 (June-July-August 2022)

AZIMUT-BENETTI GROUP

The archetype of the accomplished flybridge

With this new model, the Italian brand has the objective to meet the needs of yachtsmen interested in a 20-metre flybridge. To this end, three interior layouts of the main deck are available. The use of carbon composite materials to save weight and Volvo IPS to limit fuel consumption make this 68-foot an example of “highly recommendable” unit.

Written by Alain Brousse – Photos : All rights reserved

No one will dispute that the Azimut shipyard (Azimut-Benetti Group) has found its place in the highly-coveted world of 15 to 25 metre flybridges. And with style! Its Flybridge Collection family boasts eight models: 50′, 53′, 55′, 60′, 66′, 68′, 72′ & 78′. The new 68, with her elegant and dynamic silhouette, was presented to the world at the Cannes Yachting Festival 2021. It must be said that the exterior design was entrusted to a very popular designer, Alberto Mancini, who never misses an opportunity to create very eye-catching profiles.

Carefully designed exteriors

As with any self-respecting flybridge, and particularly this one, the exterior spaces were carefully conceived to offer the comfort expected both in navigation and at anchor. Thus, the flybridge, topped by a sunroof, offers 30 m2 dedicated to several leisure activities: an aft terrace for sunbathing candidates who can also opt for the forward solarium, then the sacrosanct dining area overlooking the sea (six guests) and finally the helm station, protected by a tinted, inverted windshield. It seems almost needless to say that the floor is made of teak. Let’s take one of the side decks to reach the 17 m2 foredeck fitted with all conveniences: two settees, one of which serving as a sunbed, with a table in-between. This space can be protected by a canvas stretched between four poles. Back to the stern, there is of course the swim platform whose two side staircases lead to the cockpit, entirely protected by the aft part of the flybridge. This space boasts the conventional settee and a table, that can accommodate six guests for meals and snacks.

Three main deck configurations

Facing the cockpit lounge, a sliding glass door opens onto the open plan reception area. And the first impression is very positive, thanks to the light-coloured decoration and the equipment disposal. The interiors were designed by Achille Salvagni, who often works for the brand. In the “Lanterna” configuration we tested, we immediately entered in the living area where are fitted two opposite sofas, each positioned against the planking. The side windows (two thirds of height) provide generous lighting. There is a step in the central part of this volume then it boasts, on portside, the dining area, ready to welcome six guests, and opposite, the galley, partly open but hidden on its aft part by an aesthetic louvred bulkhead. The helm station is hidden by this galley. Note that two other configurations are also available: one with the galley immediately at the entrance of the main deck, on portside, with an opposite dining area and, beyond, a spacious lounge. The third version is very similar to the Lanterna solution, all that changes is the enclosed galley. Whatever the layout, the lower deck is mainly dedicated to the sleeping accommodations. In addition to the amidships master (20 m2), with a bed perpendicular to the planking, there is also a twin cabin on starboard and a single berth opposite, both sharing a bathroom. Finally, the bow area houses the classic but well-designed VIP cabin.

Ideal for cruising

This Azimut 68 also demonstrated her assets in navigation thanks to her two Volvo Penta IPS1350 (2 x 1 000 hp). In twelve seconds, she went from a standstill to 20 knots, a cruising speed achieved at 1 900 rpm with a limited consumption of 180 l/h. The shipyard announced a maximum speed of 32 knots, yet, during our sea trial, the GPS displayed a slightly more optimistic 32.5 knots. The hull remained both docile and smooth on the barely choppy sea we had during our test. In conclusion, the overall assessment of the Azimut 68′ is unquestionably positive. She has a bright future ahead.

Technical sheet

Overall length
20,98 m
Width
5,23 m
Draft
1,60 m
Fuel capacity
3 700 l
Water
1 000 l
Material
polyester et composite carbone
Displacement
43,7 t
Motorization
2 x Volvo IPS1350 diesel
Power
2 x 1 000 ch
Maximum speed
32,5 nds
Autonomy at
15,7 nds : 424 milles
Naval architect
Azimut et P.Ausonio
Designer ext.
Alberto Mancini
Interior designer
Achille Salvagni
Builder
Azimut-Benetti Group (Viareggio – Italie)
Importer
Azimut Yachts France & Monaco (Cannes)

The current magazine

Présentation

Yacht Class N°29 (juin-juillet-août 2022)

AZIMUT-BENETTI GROUP

Avec ce nouveau modèle, la marque italienne s’est fixée comme objectif de pouvoir répondre au maximum à la demande des plaisanciers intéressés par un flybridge de 20 mètres. Pour cela, il propose trois versions du volume intérieur du pont principal. En misant sur le composite carbone pour gagner en poids et sur des Volvo IPS pour limiter la consommation, il fait de ce 68 pieds un exemple d’unité très recommandable.


Texte : Alain Brousse – Photos : DR

Personne ne le contestera, le chantier italien Azimut (Azimut-Benetti Group) a su parfaitement trouver sa place dans le monde très convoité des flybridge de 15 à 25 mètres. Et de quelle façon ! Sa famille Flybridge Collection aligne huit modèles : 50′, 53′, 55′, 60′, 66′, 68′, 72′ et 78′. La nouveauté, en l’occurrence le 68, présenté en avant-première mondiale au Cannes yachting Festival de 2021, s’est affichée avec une silhouette à la fois élégante et dynamique. Il faut dire qu’elle avait confié son design extérieur à un talent très en vogue, à savoir Alberto Mancini qui ne « rate » jamais une occasion de nous concocter des profils très attirants.


Des extérieurs étudiés avec soin


Comme tout flybridge qui se respecte et particulièrement celui-ci, les espaces extérieurs ont été étudiés avec précision afin d’offrir le confort attendu en navigation comme au mouillage. Ainsi le sunbridge, surmonté d’un toit ouvrant, s’étend sur 30 m2 pour plusieurs loisirs : à l’arrière, une terrasse pour les candidats aux UV qui pourront également choisir le solarium à l’avant, puis le sacrosaint carré pour prendre ses repas en dominant la mer (six convives) et enfin le poste de commande externe, protégé par un saute-vent inversé et teinté. Inutile, ou presque, de préciser que le plancher est garni de lattes de teck traité. Empruntons l’un des passavants pour rejoindre le pont avant et ses 17 m2 dotés de tout le confort : deux banquettes, dont une servant de solarium avec entre elles une table. Cet espace peut être protégé par une toile tendue entre quatre piquets. Retour vers la poupe qui, bien évidemment est équipée d’une plateforme de bain et dont les deux escaliers latéraux mènent au cockpit, totalement protégé par la partie arrière du pont du sunbridge qui sert de casquette. Tradition oblige, cet espace comporte une banquette et une table pour les repas et les collations. Six couverts peuvent y être dressés.

Trois versions pour le monospace


Face au salon du cockpit une baie coulissante découvre le « monospace » intérieur de cette unité. Et la première impression ressentie est très positive, de par la décoration aux couleurs claires et la disposition des équipements. A noter que les intérieurs sont signés Achille Salvagni, un designer qui travaille souvent pour la marque. Dans la version essayée, dite Lanterna, on entre aussitôt dans le salon où deux sofas se font face, chacun étant positionné contre le bordé. Les vitres latérales, aux deux tiers, courent tout le long apportant une lumière généreuse. Au centre de ce volume, une marche, et sur bâbord apparaît la salle à manger prête à accueillir six passagers. Les plats seront rapidement servis puisque la cuisine est juste en face en partie ouverte mais cachée vers l’arrière par une cloison à claire-voie, pour le moins esthétique. La timonerie est masquée par cette cuisine. Toutefois le chantier propose l’Azimut en deux autres versions. L’une avec la cuisine immédiatement à l’entrée de ce volume, sur bâbord, et en face le coin repas et, à peine plus loin, un salon spacieux. La troisième version est très proche du modèle Lanterna, seule modification : la cuisine est fermée. Quelle que soit la version, le pont inférieur réserve une grande partie de sa surface aux cabines de couchage. A commencer par la master (20 m2), centrale dont le lit est perpendiculaire au bordé. Puis, nous trouvons sur tribord une twin et en vis-à-vis une cabine avec une seule couchette, toutes deux se partageant une salle de bains. Enfin, dans l’espace de l’étrave, la cabine invités VIP, classique mais bien conçue.

Idéal pour la croisière


C’est donc sous la poussée de deux diesels Volvo Penta IPS1350 (2 x 1 000 ch), que l’Azimut 68 va nous démontrer ses atouts en navigation. En douze secondes, elle passera de la station arrêt à la vitesse de 20 nœuds, une allure de croisière obtenue au régime de 1 900 tr/min pour une consommation contenue de 180 l/h. Le chantier affiche une vitesse maxi de 32 nœuds tandis que lors de notre essai, le GPS fut très légèrement plus optimiste : 32,5 nœuds. La carène reste à la fois docile et douce sur une mer à peine formée, les conditions du test. En conclusion, le bilan général de l’Azimut 68′ est incontestablement positif. Elle est assurée d’un bel avenir.

Fiche technique

Longueur hors-tout
20,98 m
Largeur
5,23 m
Tirant d'eau
1,60 m
Capacité carburant
3 700 l
Eau
1 000 l
Matériau
polyester et composite carbone
Déplacement
43,7 t
Motorisation
2 x Volvo IPS1350 diesel
Puissance
2 x 1 000 ch
Vitesse maxi
32,5 nds
Autonomie à
15,7 nds : 424 milles
Architecte naval
Azimut et P.Ausonio
Designer extérieur
Alberto Mancini
Designer intérieur
Achille Salvagni
Constructeur
Azimut-Benetti Group (Viareggio – Italie)
Importateur
Azimut Yachts France & Monaco (Cannes)

Le magazine actuel